"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for February 20, 2003

Last updated on September 22, 2017 at 1:06 PM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

13 news articles posted on this day.


Daily Interviews

Metal Kings has recent interviews witht he following bands:

0 Comments - Discuss

Wumpscut Release Parties

To celebrate the release of Wumpscut's new album, Preferencial Legacy, a series of release parties will be held in the following German cities: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss


Daily Reviews

Metal Kingdom has new reviews of the following bands' latest releases:

  • Heaven's Cry
  • Soulgrind
  • Fatal Smile
  • Reflex
  • Kamelot

While Metal Kings has reviews of these bands' releases:

  • Evidence One
  • Hanoi Rocks
  • Jetboy
  • Yngwie Malmsteen
  • Masterplan
  • Pretty Boy Floyd
  • Rebellion
  • Shameless
  • Shy
  • Soul Doctor
  • Stratovarius
  • Joey Tempest
  • Unruly Child

0 Comments - Discuss

The Killing Tree sign to Eyeball

Chicago's The Killing Tree have joined the Eyeball Records roster following the release of one full-length, "The Romance of Helen Trent," on One Day Savior Recordings. The group's debut release for Eyeball will be an EP entitled "We Sing Sin." Look for that one to drop on May 6th.

0 Comments - Discuss

Ashes You Leave part with Guitarist

The doomsters of Ashes You Leave have parted ways with their guitarist, Neven Mendrilo. They are currently on the look-out for a new guitarist, so if you're interested, send an e-mail to berislav@ashesyouleave.org or domagoj@ashesyouleave.org.

0 Comments - Discuss

Gorgoroth Finished Mixing Album

Norwegian black metallers Gorgoroth have finished mastering their new album, Twilight Of The Idols (In Conspiracy with Satan), at Polar Studios in Stockholm, Sweden for a May release through Nuclear Blast Records. Bassist King of Hell claims: "The result is eight grim and atmospheric tracks that are guaranteed to satisfy new and old fans."

The complete track listing for the effort is as follows:

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Mystic Prophecy Sign with Nuclear Blast

Mystic Prophecy have inked a long-term deal with Nuclear Blast. Their new album, Regressus, means The Return in English, and will be released the 16th of June 2003. 11 songs will be featured on the record including 'Calling From Hell', 'Sign Of The Cross', 'Night Of The Storm' and 'The Land Of The Dead'.

The band consists of the greek vocalist R. D. Liapakis (Valley's Eve), bass player Martin Albrecht (ex-Stormwitch), drummer Dennis Ekdahl (Raise Hell) and guitarist Gus G. (Dream Evil/Firewind), who recently was mentioned in the Best Guitar Player worldwide Top Ten list in Burrn! and Young Guitar magazine.

0 Comments - Discuss

Callenish Circle finish Album

Callenish Circle’s Gavin Harte has issued the following album update: “We can tell you that the mixing of our upcoming album, My Passion // Your Pain, was just finished yesterday. We can say that we made a convincing step forward compared to the Flesh_Power_Dominion album. There are nine tracks and over 50 minutes of playing time and it all sounds pretty much 'blasting'. B.T.W. the limited edition digi-pack version will contain the Pestilence cover ‘Out Of The Body’.
Cheerz, Gav.”

0 Comments - Discuss

Dreams of Damnation Announce Live Dates

Los Angeles thrash metal act Dreams of Damnation, featuring former Dark Angel axeman Jim Durkin, have announced the following dates:

Mar. 01 – Hollywood, CA @ The Garage (Metal For Cancer)
Jun. 09 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Galaxy (w/ Immolation, Grave)

The Metal For Cancer benefit for Tony "Bones" Hernandez will be headlined by Agent Steel, and will mark the live debut of Jim's second thrash band, Pagan War Machine, featuring Abattoir's Steve Gaines (bass & vocals), Marcelo Lima and Durkin on guitars, and "Mayhem" Mendez on drums. Also appearing will be Infamy, Nokturne, and Scarred.

Dreams of Damnation are finishing up work on a new four-song demo, to be mixed shortly by veteran metal producer Bill Metoyer.

0 Comments - Discuss

Unholy Ghost Complete Demo

Unholy Ghost, the new band featuring Diabolic founding members Aantar Lee Coates (drums), Paul Ouellette (vocals/bass), and Jerry Mortellaro (guitar), have completed a three-song demo at XXX studios in Tampa, Florida.

Unholy Ghost, whose lineup is completed by original Diabolic guitarist and Pessimist founder Kelly McLauchlin, will shortly record their debut album, "Torrential Reign", tentatively due later in the year.

For more information, visit the band's newly-launched official web site at this location.

0 Comments - Discuss

Transport League to enter Studio

Sweden's Transport League will enter the studio on Feb. 28 with producer J. Reivén (former drummer for the gold-selling Swedes LOK), to record a new demo/promo CD.

In other news, Transport League's show at Belsepub in Gothenburg, Sweden on Jan. 17 will be aired live on March 20 on National Radio P3 Live. This broadcast can also be heard via the Internet at this location.

Transport League are currently in negotiations with several labels about an album release.

0 Comments - Discuss

Antiseen Celebrates 20 Years

Antiseen will celebrate their 20th anniversary with a live performance at Tremont Music Hall in Charlotte, North Carolina on Saturday, April 19.

"Formed in 1983 by Jeff Clayton and Joe Young, Antiseen has survived and outlasted every obstacle thrown in their way," states a press release announcing the upcoming show. "Every musical trend, every band member defection or ejection, every flavor of the week band who has ever played in the Queen City, or for that fact, the world has been dealt with and disposed of like yesterday's news. Antiseen is like a fine tuned machine or an annoying fungus....they have moved forward without question or apology and somehow managed to wind up here.....in 2003......just as loud, rude, and ugly as ever. To some, that is a miracle and a blessing. To others, it is a curse and a plaque worse than the black death. Like 'em, love 'em, or loathe the day they were born....it doesn't really matter....it's only rock and roll."

0 Comments - Discuss

Krisiun Begin Recording

Brazilian death metallers Krisiun have begun recording their new album at Bebop 2 Studios in São Paulo with producer Pierre Rémillard. The as-yet-untitled follow-up to "Ageless Venomous" will include two instrumentals and possibly a cover version of Venom's "In League With Satan".

Regarding the musical direction of the new album, guitarist Moysès Kolesne said: "After 12 years of touring and recording, we keep progressing and learning. Krisiun lives only for the most aggressive death metal, fuck the fake cheesy shit bands which claim to be the best, fuck gothic, fuck melodic, fuck trendy weak new metal. Death metal is war and vengeance... The new album's gonna be just Krisiun with full aggression, power, and originality delivering the real death metal..." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss