"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for May 20, 2002

Last updated on September 25, 2016 at 2:23 AM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

5 news articles posted on this day.


Daily Reviews

Metal Reviews is back with 11 new reviews this week:

  • Carpe Tenebrum - Dreaded Chaotic Reign
  • Crystal Ball - Virtual Empire
  • Dokken - Back For The Attack
  • Dokken - Long Way Home
  • Freedom Call - Eternity
  • Griffin - The Sideshow
  • Magnum - Breath of Life
  • On Thorns I Lay - Angeldust
  • Powergod - Evilution Part III: Nemesis
  • Soilwork - Natural Born Chaos
  • Susperia - Vindication

0 Comments - Discuss

Prophecy's New Domain in July

After 4 years of silence Prophecy has returned with a new album titled Our Domain. The album is scheduled for a July 8th release through Forever Underground.

0 Comments - Discuss

The Haunted Book Studio Time

Swedish high-energy thrashers The Haunted have booked five weeks at Studio Fredman in Gothenburg, Sweden beginning on August 26th for the recording of their forthcoming third full-length CD, due in early 2003 through Earache Records. According to bassist Jonas Bjorler, "we have at the moment eight songs written, and ideas for another three—so everything seems great."

0 Comments - Discuss

Meshuggah to be on Ozzfest Sampler

Sweden's Meshuggah officially began tracking their fourth full-length album, Nothing, on May 16th for a tentative August 6th release through Nuclear Blast Records. Meanwhile, Swedish metal journalist Martin Carlsson has received a brand new song called "Closed Eye Visuals", which will appear exclusively on an Ozzfest sampler CD to be given out in the US this summer. Clocking in at a respectable 5:59 minutes, it's an edit (!) of a demo track, and is being described as "textbook Meshuggah", featuring a super-heavy, intricate guitar groove that's repeated over and over again until virtuoso Fredrik Thordendal's unique solo technique kicks in. Following a moody, mellow part, the ultra heavy groove rounds off the song. Fans of Meshuggah's style of metal will reportedly not be disappointed.

0 Comments - Discuss

DarkThrone At Work on New Album

Veteran Norwegian black metallers Darkthrone have commenced the writing process for their forthcoming CD, tentatively titled Leper Unction, which they hope to record in September/October for an early 2003 release through Moonfog Records. Among the cuts set to appear on the upcoming CD are "Rust" and "Fucked Up And Ready To Die".

According to a statement posted on the band's recently-launched official web site at www.darkthrone.no, "the new album seems to develop into another state of soul-binding art (at least for us it is), black & white album design, dark-edge primitive metal. This time around we'll make sure that we show everybody where we will stand in the future…As already everybody knows, Darkthrone stands for nothing 'new and fresh', prog-metal is a totally different musical world for us, we live and breathe for the real thing."

0 Comments - Discuss