"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for April 5, 2002

Last updated on September 23, 2017 at 5:37 PM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

6 news articles posted on this day.


Daily Reviews

WhiteTrashDevil has new reviews this week:

  • W.A.S.P. - The Sting (DVD)
  • Honcho - Corporate Rock
  • Low Vibes/Space Patrol - Coming Down To The Velvet Lounge
  • Hank Williams III - Lovesick Broke & Driftin?
  • Local H - Here Comes The Zoo
  • Dragonlord - Rapture

0 Comments - Discuss

Robert Plant to go Head First

Former Led Zeppelin frontman Robert Plant will release his first solo album since 1993, entitled Head First, on July 16th. Self-produced, the effort will include covers of the Jimi Hendrix classic "Hey Joe" and Tim Hardin's "Morning Dew". The latter marks the second time Plant has covered a Hardin track— on his 1993 release Fate of Nations, he covered Hardin's classic "If I Were A Carpenter".

The album also includes "Song Of The Siren", recorded by This Mortal Coil and Tim Buckley (father of Jeff).

0 Comments - Discuss

Hammerheart gets Hearse

Sweden's Hearse, consisting of former Arch Enemy/current Nonexist frontman Johan Liiva (vocals/bass), Max Thornell (drums), and Mattias Ljung (guitars), have inked a deal with Hammerheart Records and will shortly be issuing a 7” single as a taster for a forthcoming debut album, due in the fall.

Johan and Max had previously played together from 1990 up until 1994 in the band Furbowl, which issued two albums through the Black Mark label.

0 Comments - Discuss

Headline News

Karma To Burn Out

Acclaimed West Virginia instrumental heavy rockers Karma To Burn have split up, according to www.stonerrock.com. Bassist Rich Mullinses has reportedly joined Texas aggro-rockers Speedealer, while guitarist Will Mecums and drummer Rob Oswalds are said to be planning a new project, the details of which have not yet been divulged.

0 Comments - Discuss

Kiss the Cynic to record in May

Ex-Luddite Clone vocalist Andy Cummings and his former bandmates have formed a new band with members of As Darkness Falls called Kiss The Cynic.

The newly formed outfit are recording a five-song EP in May at an unspecified studio, and hope to have the recording ready for a June release. The band are looking to play live as much as possible and are expected to be performing shows on the East Coast shortly

0 Comments - Discuss

Autumn Tears Lose Vocalist

Darkwavers Autumn Tears have officially announced departure of vocalist Erika.

According to the band, no definite replacement has been found or is planned at this point. However, Autumn Tears will move forward and continue to work on their forthcoming album, Eclipse, which should be ready by summer 2002 if all goes as planned. Autumn Tears already have over a half and hour of music which is described by the band as "beautiful, haunting music that will set the standard once again for the neo-classical darkwave genre."

Look for Autumn Tears Eclipse out sometime this fall on Dark Symphonies Records.

0 Comments - Discuss