"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for April 12, 2002

Last updated on September 22, 2017 at 1:06 PM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

7 news articles posted on this day.


Daily Reviews

Nosebleed17 has new reviews:

  • Still Life - "Pre Release"
  • Monkeynut - "Faces"
  • Unwelcome - "Independent Worm Songs"
  • Foreground - "Chaos"
  • Scars Of Life - "Mute"
  • Sinckwhole - "Cease To Exist"
  • Omniblank - "Birth Of A Firefly"
  • Pooch - "Individual"
  • Carv - "Anesthetic"

0 Comments - Discuss

Forlorn Revamp, Reload, and Record

Since the release of Opus III - Ad Caelestis Res, Norwegian metallers, Forlorn have been through many changes, most notably, the departure of C. Worhn. Original guitarist Hennex began looking for members, even just for a recording session. This resulted in a reevaluation of the band's direction, straying from the previous Viking metal sound and discovering new life as an extreme metal act, a style which suits the band's "from the present to the future" attitude far better.

Forlorn will begin recording the next, still untitled, Napalm Records disc on April 15th, for an anticipated August release. Once finished with the recording session, the band will undertake a series of live dates. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Arch Enemy Skips Hypocrisy/Soilwork US Tour

Arch Enemy will not be touring the US in May as part of the Hypocrisy/Soilwork package and are presently looking for “bigger and better” opportunities for the same time period, according to a spokesperson for band's American record label, Century Media Records. “They were never confirmed [for the tour],” the label rep told Blabbermouth.net. “They were asked, somehow it got out and [everyone assumed they were doing it]. They were not interested in this tour and are entertaining different offers and looking for bigger and better opportunities.”

Hypocrisy and Soilwork are expected to complete all the dates as scheduled, with Killswitch Engage and Scar Culture occupying the first and second slots on the bill, respectively.

0 Comments - Discuss

Malevolent Creation Change Producer/Studio

Contrary to previous reports, Malevolent Creation will no longer be recording their next studio effort, entitled The Will to Kill, at Abyss Studios with producer Peter Tagtgren and will instead be utilizing Montreal's Victor facility with Jean-Francois Dagenais of Kataklysm at the production helm. A late 2002 release through Nuclear Blast Records in Europe is expected.

0 Comments - Discuss

Bathory to Begin work on eleventh album

Bathory mainman Quorthon is planning on entering the studio shortly to begin work on the band's 11th studio album, which is tentatively due before the end of the summer

0 Comments - Discuss

Morrigan's Sea of Flames

Morrigan's new album is finished and scheduled for an April 20th release. The title of the album is Enter The Sea Of Flames and will be released through Germany's Barbarian Wrath label.

0 Comments - Discuss

Headline News

Soilent Green in Another Accident

On April 11, 2002 New Orleans' Soilent Green were involved in yet another vehicle accident that left vocalist Ben Falgoust and stand-in tour bassist Jon Model injured.

According to sources close to the band, Falgoust and Model were the most affected by the accident while the remaining members of Soilent Green, guitarist Brian Patton and drummer Tommy Buckley, escaped the crash with only minor scrapes.

As a result of the accident, Soilent Green are effectively off GWAR's "Blood Drive 2002" tour and will spend time at home recouperating.

0 Comments - Discuss