"some music was meant to stay underground..."

New Album "The Distortion Field" Announced By Trouble

Legendary Chicago metal band Trouble announced that the long awaited return album will be entitled "The Distortion Field." The album is scheduled for release on July 16th (North America) and July 26th (Europe) via FRW Records. The album marks the first new album from the band since the 2007 LP "Simple Mind Condition."

"The Distortion Field" will also make history for the band as they welcome new lead vocalist, Kyle Thomas of Exorder and Floodgate fame.

Commenting on new vocalist is founder and guitarist Rick Wartell: "Kyle is one of the most impressive singers I've ever heard, and by far the most extraordinary singer I've ever had the pleasure of working with. He's got incredible range, incredible power, and an incredible knowledge of Trouble, as he's been a fan for 20-something years. We've known him forever, and he innately understands what Trouble is about. He's like the perfect guy to come in and do this job. It's awesome."

Veteran music Producer Bill Metoyer is once again lending his expertise, having previously worked with the band on "The Skull" and 'Trouble," both Metal Blade releases.

Wartell commented on the album direction: "Musically, I think this album is a true Trouble record. In the early days, we used to just write what we felt and didn't really care about what anyone said. We just wrote heavy riffs and played our music our way. But outside influences can kind of get a hold of you and start telling you what to do. When we were writing this album, the thinking was, we don't care what anybody thinks. We're going to write what we write. So this is basically a return to our roots, while combining some reflections of our band's long history as well. With the two different music writers, Bruce and myself, we have a slight variation in our writing; Bruce has more of a '70s groove to his writing, and I'm more the old school doomy metal thing. And when you put it together, you get Trouble."

The band consists of Kyle Thomas - vocals, Rick Wartell - guitar, Bruce Franklin - guitars, and Mark "Marko" Lira - drums.

More details including song titles and album artwork are expected to be revealed in the coming weeks.

The band has planned a string of festival dates and will tour the album in both Europe and North America. Visit the band's website www.newtrouble.com for updates.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Trouble Announces New Album & Release Date"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Cynic's avatar

Senior Reviewer

1. Cynic writes:

Awesome, looking forward to hearing what Kyle can bring to the table.

# May 16, 2013 @ 8:32 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.