"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Slough Feg Finishes New Album "The Animal Spirits"

American heavy metal band Slough Feg has completed work on the band's follow-up to "Ape Uprising," which is entitled "The Animal Spirits." Vocalist/guitarist Mike Scalzi comments on the new album: "The title sounds like it could mean plenty of things, but really refers to an Aristotelian theory of perception that was somehow taken seriously until the mid to later 1700's (?!) Why this was I don't know, but it involves these bizarre fluid called ‘animal spirits’ traveling through a person's veins carrying information of what they have perceived, storing it in the heart, and then releasing it again when that thing is remembered. It really a primitive precursor to the idea of neurons firing in a chain, containing ideas. So that's what people will find if they do a little research about the title."

Going further into the themes of the album, Scalzi elaborates: "The content of the record is (subject wise) is not too far from usual SLOUGH FEG material. The first two songs are about Medieval Catholic theology. Then it switches to basic horror themes, a couple of songs about some insane person who thinks he's a vampire, and then a werewolf (inspired by the Gothic soap-opera ‘Dark Shadows’) then there's one of our weird ‘what if Dicky Betts of the Allman Brothers had joined Iron Maiden in 1980’ instrumentals. Then a few more songs about frustration, misery and madness, and a final fast, driving rock/metal number called ‘Tactical Air-War’, which will be sung by Bob Wright of Brocas Helm!”

You can listen to two new MP3s off the album, "The 95 Thesis" and "Free Market Barbarian" at this location. The album is set for a North American release on October 26th via Profound Lore Records.

The track listing is as follows:

1. Trick the Vicar
2. The 95 Thesis
3. Materia Prima
4. Free Market Barbarian
5. Lycanthropic Fantasies
6. Ask the Casket
7. Heavyworlder
8. The Tell-Tale Heart
9. Kon-Tiki
10. Second Coming
11. Tactical Air-War (feat. Bob Wright of Brocas Helm)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Slough Feg Finishes New Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Cynic's avatar

Senior Reviewer

1. Cynic writes:

Urgh - Oct. 26th is too far away! I know this album is going to be a solid purchase so I think I'll hold out on listening to the tracks until it's in my hands.

# Sep 1, 2010 @ 8:22 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.