"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Manowar To Release "Kings Of Metal MMXIV" In February

"Kings Of Metal MMXIV" is a completely new recording with many surprises, celebrating the 25th anniversary of the release of "Kings Of Metal" and Manowar's following world tour. The release is due out February 28th, 2014.

For "Kings Of Metal MMXIV," Manowar recorded timeless metal anthems with new arrangements and the band's signature "larger than life" sound. "Our fans have made us the 'Kings Of Metal,' and with this tribute to one of their favorite albums, we honor them and thank them for their unparalleled support and loyalty!" said Manowar vocalist Eric Adams.

The album will feature 9 main tracks packed with face-melting metal, plus 9 bonus tracks with over 40 minutes of additional music. "We have pushed man and machine to the maximum level to honor the original recordings that we all love, and to add new aspects and surprises that give this new album its own character," said bassist and producer Joey DeMaio. "The sound is again as massive and majestic as it has always been," he continued.

"Recording this album has been an amazing experience! After playing the songs so many times on tour, Donnie and I now had the opportunity to contribute our own sound and elements that the fans have come to love from our live performances," explained guitarist Karl Logan.

For the new narration on the spoken word track "The Warrior's Prayer MMXIV," Manowar joined forces with British actor Brian Blessed. For special effects of the highest level on "The Warrior's Prayer MMXIV," sound effects specialist Hamilton Sterling was recruited.

"Kings Of Metal MMXIV" will be released in retail on February 28th, 2014 as a 2 Disc CD with two 24-page booklets and additional new art by fantasy artist and longtime collaborator Ken Kelly. You can also catch the band live:

Fri, February 7, 2014 - Royal Oak Theatre - Royal Oak, MI, USA
Sat, February 8, 2014 - Concord Music Hall - Chicago, IL, USA
Sun, February 9, 2014 - Mill City - Minneapolis, MN, USA
Thur, February 13, 2014 - The Masquerade - Atlanta, GA, USA
Sat, February 15, 2014 - House Of Blues - Houston, TX, USA
Sun, February 16, 2014 - House Of Blues - Dallas, TX, USA
Tue, February 18, 2014 - Ogden Theatre - Denver, CO, USA
Thur, February 20, 2014 - Regency Theatre - San Francisco, CA, USA
Sat, February 22, 2014 - Fox Theatre - Pomona, CA, USA
Tue, March 18, 2014 - Olymp Palace of Sports - Krasnodar, Russia
Fri, March 21, 2014 - Luzhniki Palace of Sports - Moscow, Russia
Sun, March 23, 2014 - Yubileyny Sports Palace - St. Petersburg, Russia
Tue, March 25, 2014 - Rock Café - Tallinn, Estonia – SOLD OUT
Thur, March 27, 2014 - Rock Café - Tallinn, Estonia – SOLD OUT
Sat, March 29, 2014 - Teatro Arena - Vilnius, Lithuania
Sat, May 17, 2014 - Spodek – Katowice, Poland
Wed, May 21, 2014 - Hangar 11 – Tel Aviv, Israel
Sat, May 24, 2014 - Metal Summer Festival - Istanbul, Turkey
Fri-Sun, June 13-15, 2014 – Legacy Open Air - Weismain, Germany
Fri-Sat, July 25-26, 2014 - Magic Circle Festival - Helsinki, Finland
Wed, January 14, 2015 - Grugahalle – Essen, Germany
Fri, January 16, 2015 - Zenith – Munich, Germany
Sat, January 17, 2015 - Jahrhunderthalle – Frankfurt, Germany

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

You can get related band news and info in the sidebar and on the respective band pages.


1 Comment on "Manowar To Release 'Kings Of Metal MMXIV' In Feb."

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Cynic's avatar

Senior Reviewer

1. Cynic writes:

I'm unashamedly looking forward to this, great album.

# Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:05 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.