"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Death Hawks Announces Self-Titled Album Release

Gaea Records announces September 13th as the international release date for Death Hawk's self-titled second album.

Death Hawks was put together in the spring of 2010 to arrange and record songs by singer Teemu Markkula (also of Svart recording artists Seremonia), but it soon metamorphosed into a real band. Death Hawks released adebut album in February 2012 through Tampere, Finland-based Gaea records. The cover and track listing for the second album are available below. The following press release was also issued:

"Death Hawks is a timeless band. Its references, or at least the most obvious ones, come from a variety of sources, from the blues to psychedelia, early heavy metal to krautrock, but there is no way you can all the sound pure retro. There’s an overabundance of bands influenced by many of the same genres in the global underground, but few of them can rise above crate-digging and pastiche, like, say, Primal Scream can at their best.

"So, on paper, Death Hawks sounds tiringly familiar, but as a listening experience it hits the spot, thanks to strong songwriting. High praise for the debut album and a reputation as a mind-blowing live act are now fueling hype outside Finland. Heavy touring has made sure Death Hawks' live gigs have grown even more fierce, showing the crowd what rock once was and what it will be."

1. Night Children
2. Cain Go Home (2. Session)
3. Blind Daughter of Death
4. Grim-eyed Goat
5. Quiet Sun
6. Cain Go Home (1. Session)
7. Black Acid

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Death Hawks Announces Self-Titled Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.