"some music was meant to stay underground..."

August Burns Red Releasing New Album "August Burns Red Presents: Sleddin’ Hill, A Holiday Album"

After releasing an amped-up cover of a holiday classic in each of the past four years, August Burns Red is officially announcing details of a full-length Christmas album: "August Burns Red presents: Sleddin’ Hill, A Holiday Album." The album will be released on October 9th, 2012.

The 13-track release features new takes on classics such as “Jingle Bells,” “Winter Wonderland,” and even “Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer,” as well as original compositions. The album also compiles remixed and remastered versions of the band’s previous holiday hits, like “O Come, O Come Emmanuel,” “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen,” and “Little Drummer Boy.” Rounding out the collection is an updated version of the band’s rendition of “Carol of the Bells,” heard in Frank Miller’s movie The Spirit and Seth MacFarlane’s American Dad.

“The idea of doing a full Christmas album has been floating around in the ABR camp for a few years now, but what always held us back was finding the time and energy to write an additional full-length in between touring and writing our regular records,” explains guitarist and principle songwriter JB Brubaker. “After finishing [2011’s] Leveler I finally felt inspired enough to tackle the Christmas album idea.”

The band chose to come home and work at Lancaster's Atrium Audio with longtime friends Carson Slovak and Grant McFarland on "Sleddin' Hill." “Because this was such a different type of album, I was able to get a little more wild with my influences,” states Brubaker. “There’s a section inspired by one of my favorite bands, Beirut. There’s also guitar solo that is an ode to Blue Album-era Weezer, and my punk roots are evident all over the album.”

“Writing metal versions of Christmas songs has always been a challenge for me because the songs are driven by simple vocal melodies with the only variety in the lyrics. We decided to take the songs and go the instrumental route - the main melodies are there, but this record has a lot more to it then that,” he adds. “The songs have sections of music that flow in and out of the classic melodies we've all come to recognize. There is a lot of substance in these songs- more than you'd find in your typical cover.”

On whether Sleddin’ Hill is destined to become a novelty album or a key part of the band’s discography, Brubaker has the final word: “To some, the concept of a metal Christmas album may come off as silly and a waste of time, but I think this record has plenty of original ABR substance to interest even the biggest Scrooges out there.”

The track listing is as follows:

1. Flurries
2. Frosty the Snowman
3. Sleigh Ride
4. God Rest Ye’ Merry Gentlemen
5. Jingle Bells
6. Oh Holy Night
7. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer
8. Sleddin’ Hill
9. Little Drummer Boy
10. Winter Wonderland
11. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
12. Carol of the Bells (2012)
13. We Wish You a Merry Christmas

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "August Burns Red Releasing Christmas Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

BodomFan's avatar


1. BodomFan writes:


# Aug 8, 2012 @ 3:30 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
rambof07's avatar


2. rambof07 writes:

I am waiting to watch it. It's looking great......

# Aug 13, 2012 @ 11:10 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.