"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Vision Of Disorder Reveals New Album "The Cursed Remain Cursed" Details

Photo of Vision of Disorder

Band Photo: Vision of Disorder (?)

Candlelight Records today reveals the album artwork and track listing for Vision of Disorder’s forthcoming new album, "The Cursed Remain Cursed." Set for release on September 18th, it is the first new album from the New York-based hardcore band in over ten years. The album is a working collaboration between Vision of Disorder, producer Will Putney (Shadows Fall, Suicide Silence), and mixer Cameron Webb (Motorhead, Social Distortion).

Several artists were considered for "The Cursed Remain Cursed" as the band looked for images that would reflect the near four years of intense work that comprised the making of the album. It was the vision of East Anglia-based illustrator Tom Bates that struck the right chord with the band in making the final selection. Guitarist Mike Kennedy says, “Some of the best album covers, like Soundgarden’s Badmotorfinger and Faith No More’s Angel Dust, say everything and nothing at the same time. We felt like Tom’s art really impacted us profoundly in that way. None of us were thinking in that direction yet as soon as we saw it, the band unanimously wanted it on the cover.”

Lyrical inspiration for The Cursed Remain Cursed, as detailed by vocalist Tim Williams, came from a personal place. “There was a lot going on in my life at the time we began writing songs for the record and I had a lot to reflect upon,” he reveals. “Looking back over the past few years, I have had to make some difficult decisions. There were things that needed to change. Some things die quietly, while other things take years to pass. Your life is what you make of it, to live is to learn.” Continuing he notes, “some songs came very easy, like ‘Skullz Out.’ Songs like ‘Loveless’ and Set To Fail’ took a little bit more effort because they were already saying something musically, so I had to work extra hard to push the vocal over the top.”

With creative detail now complete, the band is preparing for the album’s early autumn release and upcoming live appearances. Reflecting the extensive process, guitarist Matt Baumbach says, “In my opinion The Cursed Remain Cursed is our band’s finest achievement. We are proud to have written something that represents the next level of VOD. It is never easy to make one of our records; it’s long, arduous, and at times maniacal. This record bleeds from the band’s heart and it survived hell and back to get here. Roll the dice one more time because we are all in with this one.” Kennedy adds, “we feel we accomplished a very unique, vicious and exciting record without compromising the VOD brand of hardcore.”

The track listing is:

1. Loveless
2. Set to Fail
3. Blood Red Sun
4. Hard Times
5. Annihilator
6. Skullz Out (Rot In Pieces)
7. The Enemy
8. The Seventh Circle
9. New Order of Ages
10. Be Up On It
11. Heart And Soul

You can stream the track “Loveless” right here or catch Vision of Disorder live on these dates:

9/14/2012 The Underworld – London, UK
9/15/2012 Mojo Live – Mancheste, UK
10/19/12 Club Revolution – Long Island, NY
11/24/12 Music Hall of Williamsburg – Brooklyn, NY

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Vision Of Disorder Reveals New Album Details"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.