"some music was meant to stay underground..."

A Sound Of Thunder Releasing New Album "Out Of The Darkness"

Photo of A Sound Of Thunder

Band Photo: A Sound Of Thunder (?)

Less than a year after self-releasing the band's first album, "Metal Renaissance," A Sound of Thunder will now release a second full-length album, "Out of the Darkness," on March 27th, 2012. The 10 track album is being released through U.S. independent label Nightmare Records. The band's publicist issued the following press release:

"Relatively new faces in the metal world, A Sound of Thunder is fronted by powerful lead vocalist Nina Osegueda. Lead guitarist Josh Schwartz and drummer Chris Haren founded A Sound of Thunder in 2008. Nina joined in 2009, and was followed by bass and keyboard player, Jesse Keen, in 2010. In less than two years, A Sound of Thunder recorded and released an EP, a charity single benefiting the West Memphis Three, and a full length self-produced album. They have performed throughout the US, and opened for such high profile bands as Accept, Sabaton, Firewind, Primal Fear and Doro.

"Assembly Line Studio's multi-platinum award winning engineer and producer Kevin "131" Gutierrez (Shinedown, While Heaven Wept, Deceased) produced the album, providing a crisp, heavy, modern sound for the classic metal compositions. The 10 track album plays like a love letter to all that is metal, encompassing traditional heavy metal, modern power metal, prog and classic rock, with timeless songs that could have been written in 1971, 1991 or 2011.

"The songs for Out of the Darkness were written and arranged by Josh Schwartz and the rest of A Sound of Thunder, with lyrics written by Nina Osegueda and Chris Haren. Legendary Raven front-man John Gallagher also appears, performing a duet with Nina on the title track Out of the Darkness."

"John Gallagher was so awesome to work with," says Nina Osegueda of her experience with the legendary metal front man. "I learned a lot from him in the short time we were in the studio together, and I really respect his skills and experience which shine through on this track."

A Sound of Thunder will embark on a tour to support Out of the Darkness in the spring. Confirmed tour dates are below, with more to be confirmed soon:

March 31 - West Springfield, VA - Empire (formerly Jaxx) (Release Party)
April 14 - Frederick, MD - Krug's Place
May 14 - Des Moines, IA - Vaudeville Mews
May 15 - St. Paul, MN - Station 4 (with Sabaton)
May 18 - Joliet, IL - Mojoe's (Ragnarokkr Metal Apocalypse)
May 19 - Nashville, TN - TBD
May 21 - West Springfield, VA - Empire (formerly Jaxx) (with Sabaton)

The album's track listing is as follows:

01. The Day I Die (8:31)
02. The Night Witch (5:37)
03. Kill That Bitch (3:56)
04. Murderous Horde (5:56)
05. A Sound of Thunder (4:46)
06. Out of the Darkness (4:24)
07. Calat Alhambra (8:18)
08. Fight Until the End (6:29)
09. This Too Shall Pass (5:08)
10. Discovery (8:36)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "A Sound Of Thunder Releasing 'Out Of The Darkness'"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.