"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Primordial Comments On Upcoming Album "Redemption At The Puritan's Hand"

Photo of Primordial

Band Photo: Primordial (?)

Irish pagan metal act Primordial has just released the reissue of the band's "Storm Before Calm" album in Europe. The album is available in a remastered version as a double digipak with new artwork. The package also contains the bonus-DVD Live at Summer Breeze 2004.

Meanwhile, Primordial has finished the recordings on the band's seventh studio album, "Redemption At The Puritan's Hand," with producer Chris Fielding (Napalm Death, Electric Wizard). The album is set for a April release via Metal Blade Records.

Primordial vocalist A.A. Nemtheanga comments on the new album:

"If I had to sum this album up I would say this is the 'death' album. Plain and simple. There isn't exactly a whole concept but many of the themes deal with mortality, how we deal with it. The spiritual structures we place around us to make sense of it. Sex, death, procreation and god. As we get older our relationship to our lives changes, the realization you will not live forever, the grand plan you hoped to uncover never materializes, food for worms and nothing more. We are animals, beasts and making peace with that beast might be your life's work but more often than not he is never tamed.

"Once a wolf always a wolf. We all seek redemption in one way or another, from lies or from truth. Those of us who are godless or faithless often envy the man of faith for his life seems to have an extra purpose, despite the fact that logic, pragmatism, science and realism should crush any sign of faith, we still persist in lying to ourselves. Perhaps the alternative is too much to bear. So the themes of religion, mortality and death occur over and over again, along with continuing themes of alienation, martyrdom, sacrifice, violence and retribution. Occasionally, very occasionally a chink of light breaks through. This is our seventh album, you know what to expect, passion, intensity, commitment and sheer bloody mindedness. Don't expect fantasy or escapism. No remorse, no regret."

"Redemption At The Puritan's Hand" is set to drop on April 23rd/26th, 2011 via Metal Blade Records in Europe and April 26th in North America.

The "Storm Before Calm" reissue track listing is as follows:

1. The Heretic Age
2. Fallen To Ruin
3. Cast To The Pyre
4. Suns First Rays
5. What Sleeps Within
6. Hosting Of The Sidhe
7. Sons Of The Morrigan

Live at Summer Breeze 2004 DVD track listing:
1. Gods to the Godless
2. A Journey's End
3. The Heretic's Age
4. The Soul Must Sleep
5. Sons of the Morrigan
6. To Enter Pagan

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Primordial Comments On Upcoming Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Cynic's avatar

Senior Reviewer

1. Cynic writes:

Today just keeps getting better, and this news is a nice chink of light for me.

# Feb 14, 2011 @ 8:19 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. R Tenney writes:

Good news. They're last full length was one of the best records of the year. Met these micks in Worcester Ma. Great band and I look forward to they're new work!

# Feb 14, 2011 @ 8:29 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.