"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Powerwolf Set To Release Sophomore Album, "Lupus Dei"

Multinational Metalheads Powerwolf has finished their second album “Lupus Dei,” mixed in Studio Fredman in Gothenburg, Sweden.

“The songwriting was a truly emotional process. I have never been that dedicated to any piece of music in all my life so far“, Attila Dorn reflects. In the end the band had written ten brand new tunes carrying on where “Return in Bloodred” left off. Tracks such as “We Take It From The Living“ and “Prayer In The Dark“ feature all the trademarks of Powerwolf songs, yet adding more melodic density, pounding heaviness and epic moments than ever before.

Paying tribute to the spiritual feeling of the album, Powerwolf recorded parts of “Lupes Dei” in a chapel built in the 12th century. “It was haunting. Recording in a church can not be compared to any studio situation. You can breathe history in such a place and it was definitely the most inspirational surrounding we could have chosen for the creation of this album”, Matthew Greywolf says. "On the title track as well as on ‘In Blood We Trust’ we even worked with a 30-piece classical choir, which was amazing."

Lyrically, dealing with the word of the Bible and the dogmas of metal, “Lupus Dei” features everything Powerwolf has come to represent; haunting horror atmospheres, spiritual organ madness, Attila’s outstanding and unique vocal performance—and most of all TEN EXTREMELY CATCHY METAL ANTHEMS SOON TO BE HOWLED BY MANY WOLF-ADDICTED SOULS.

Here is the “Lupes Dei” track listing:

1. Lupus Demonae (Intro)
2. We Take it from the Living
3. Prayer in the Dark
4. Saturday Satan
5. In Blood We Trust
6. Behind the Leathermask
7. Vampires Don’t Die
8. When the Moon Shines Red
9. Mother Mary is a Bird of Prey
10. Tiger of Sabrod
11. Lupus Dei

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Powerwolf Set To Release Sophomore Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.