"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Prong Unveils New Album "Ruining Lives"

Photo of Prong

Band Photo: Prong (?)

"Ruining Lives" will be Prong's follow-up to 2012 release "Carved Into Stone." The following press release was issued about the upcoming album:

"With Tommy Victor in the producer's chair and Steve Evetts (Hatebreed, Sick Of It All, Sepultura) once again coming in to put his trademark shine on the record, Ruining Lives has turned out to be a monster of an album.

"From the first riff-assault of the opener 'Turnover,' the album takes you on an angst-filled roller coaster ride that marries some very old school, Beg To Differ-elements with post-punk, industrial metal, hardcore thrash, all the while retaining a modern and current feel. Fans of the bands legendary, genre-defining Cleansing-era and new fans alike will be thrilled."

Tommy Victor also comments: "This is the fastest written and recorded Prong album ever and it has more great songs than any previous Prong record. I am particularly proud of the vocal performance and I think we captured some outstanding sounds on this album. There's a little bit of a throwback element here. Ruining Lives is almost a 'Force Fed' type of song. The album is a hybrid between NY Hardcore and some very modern, song oriented work. You will find some 'Rude Awakening' but also some solid, crushing riffs. I feel we have captured the best elements of Prong on this album."

He continues, "Come To Realize is something new - we have never approached this kind of time signature. It really is math-metal meets pure hardcore with a crazy-ass riff. What's exciting about the whole album is you have your hooks, your riffs and something innovative that makes the album very current. This qualifies as the hybrid nature of Prong: marrying post-punk, industrial metal, hardcore thrash and modern elements - all of that with hooks and not just a bunch of screaming."

The new album "Ruining Lives" will be released through SPV/Steamhammer in Scandinavia on April 23rd, in Germany on April 25th, in Europe on April 28th and in the US/Canada on May 13th. The track listing is as follows:

1. Turnover
2. The Barriers
3. Windows Shut
4. Remove, Separate Self
5. Ruining Lives
6. Absence Of Light
7. The Book Of Change
8. Self Will Run Riot
9. Come To Realize
10. Chamber Of Thought
11. Limitations And Validations
12. Retreat (Bonus Track)

 photo prong_zps6a4eae1b.jpg

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

3 Comments on "Prong Unveils New Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Brother B writes:

YES! That is all.

# Feb 27, 2014 @ 2:00 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. alwaysne writes:

Hope there's a headlining US tour with a better routing this time.

# Feb 28, 2014 @ 1:49 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Valentine_no_more's avatar


3. Valentine_no_more writes:

It is sweet to see bands that still survive throughout the years.

# Mar 2, 2014 @ 12:11 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.