"some music was meant to stay underground..."

The 3rd And The Mortal Founder To Release Fifth Solo Album

Kari Rueslåtten, founding member of the progressive doom metal band The 3rd and the Mortal, has announced a March 7, 2014 release date for "Time to Tell," her fifth solo album, and first in eight years, via Despotz Records. Time to Tell can be pre-ordered now online at this location.

"The composing has been done by me sitting at the piano singing," commented Rueslåtten. "No drum-beats or co-composers this time! I wanted to go back to the core of songwriting. If the verse and chorus works just accompanied by the piano - it will work with other arrangements in studio too.

"What really triggered me to start making music again were all the kind messages I got from fans around the world asking me when new music would surface. I am most humble and grateful to find that there are people out there who have followed my music since my early beginning, back in The 3rd and the Mortal-days, and through all my solo albums."

"Time to Tell" was recorded and produced at Øra Studio in Trondheim, Norway with Norwegian Grammy Award-winning producer Jostein Ansnes. The 11-track, all-acoustic album features guest musicians Jostein Ansnes (guitars), Rune Arnesen (drums), Trygve Brøske (piano and pump organ) and Eirik Øien (upright bass).

To whet the appetite of fans around the globe, Rueslåtten launched a music video for the album's first single "Why so Lonely" (which can be viewed in the player below). "Why so Lonely" originally appeared on The 3rd and the Mortal's 1994 album "Tears Laid in Earth," and has been rearranged by Rueslåtten with the help of Tuomas Holopainen (Nightwish) on piano and keys, Jostein Ansnes on guitar and Rune Arnesen on drums.

"I decided to look back in time and make a cover version of one of my favorite songs from the early years with The 3rd and the Mortal," added Rueslåtten. "In a way, it can be seen as a tribute to those who have showed interest in my music through so many years."

The album cover can be viewed here:

The track list for the album is:

1. Time to Tell
2. Hide Underneath Bridges
3. Hold On
4. Paint the Rainbow Grey
5. Rainy Days Ahead
6. Why so Lonely
7. Shoreline
8. Waltz across the Sky
9. Wintersong
10. Stay Right Here
11. Only You Know

Check out "Why So Lonely" here:

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Kari Rueslåtten To Release 5th Solo Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.