"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Monsterworks Unveils New Album And Track

4.5 billion years in the making... Eat Lead and Die Music has announced the impending release of Monsterworks' "Earth," available on August 20th with digital distribution through the usual outlets on August 30th. The album will be offered as a special edition numbered digipak CD signed by the band, with lyric booklet and two bonus tracks. Vocalist/Guitarist Jon had this to say about the concepts surrounding the album:

"I am intrigued by evolution, not just of biological organisms but also how the physical world changes over time, so it was not that much of a stretch to consider doing an album themed around the life-cycle of Earth; beginning with its origin 'From Dust and Gravity' where a clumping together of rock and minerals left over from a supernova explosion formed a globe orbiting an infant star.

Each track progresses chronologically, from an early period called the 'Late Heavy Bombardment' which is thought to have delivered water and seeded chemical elements that developed into life and what was to be our 'Last Universal Ancestor.' Then we move onto a time where cyanobacteria started to photosynthesize and a process of 'Oxygenation' paved the way for more complex animals to evolve, 'Powered by Fate' as it were. Explosions of life, even when resulting in huge animals like dinosaurs, were often 'Bookended by Extinction' events that wiped the slate almost entirely clean until our chance came in the present 'Aeon of Man.'

Earth honors the seemingly miraculous yet naturally occurring planet on which we live. The title track is the only song that gets a little preachy about our responsibility as custodians of the environment; the rest is just a tale of the sequence of events that got us this far. So take from it philosophically what you will, Monsterworks primarily aims to produce metal which blurs the boundaries between preposterousness and the familiar while hopefully initiating a little independent thought along the way."

Below is the tracklisting and cover art of "Earth," along with an upload of one of the new track "Late Heavy Bombardment."

1. From Dust and Gravity
2. Late Heavy Bombardment
3. Last Universal Ancestor
4. Oxygenation
5. Powered by Fate
6. Bookended By Extinction
7. Aeon of Man
8. Earth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Monsterworks Unveils New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.