"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Track Listing And Cover For "Land Of New Hope" Revealed For Timo Tlkki's Avalon

The new metal opera project from Ex-Stratovarius guitarist Timo Tolkki, Avalon, revealed the track listing for the upcoming release "Land of New Hope." The concept release is due out May 17, 2013 (EU and May 21, 2013 (North America) via Frontiers Records.

The story surrounding the concept takes place more than 40 years in the future when most of the planet has been destroyed by natural disasters. The title of the opera refers to the safe haven that a small group of survivors seek. The album will be available in two formats: a standard CD and a deluxe edition featuring a 30-minute documentary on the making-of the album and two videos.

For this unique concept album, Timo Tolkki was able to gather some of most accomplished international singers: Michael Kiske (Unisonic), Elize Ryd (Amaranthe), Rob Rock (Impellitteri), Russell Allen (Symphony X), Sharon Den Adel (Within Temptation) and Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica). Rounding up the stunning line-up of this album are world-renowned musicians Alex Holzwarth (Rhapsody Of Fire) on drums, Jens Johansson (Stratovarius), Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater, Black Country Communion) and Mikko Härkin (Sonata Arctica) on keyboards, and Tolkki himself taking care of all guitars, bass and production duties.

"The Land Of New Hope" came about as the result of a discussion that began years ago between Timo Tolkki and Frontiers Records President Serafino Perugino. Perugino, a longtime Stratovarius fan, suggested Tolkki return to the original Stratovarius sound in a more symphonic fashion. In August, 2012 Tolkki began work on what would become "The Land Of New Hope." Tolkki explained, "I sort of rediscovered myself musically in the process of making this album. I wrote the story first and started composing the music after that. My aim was to write memorable songs with good melodies that would support the story. In Stratovarius, back in the early 90's, I was one of the creators of the power metal genre, so it is only natural that people may associate this music style with me...but on this album you will find lot of dynamics including fully-orchestrated songs that sound very, very big."

"The Land Of New Hope" opens a new chapter in Tolkki's career. Tolkki added, "'The Land Of New Hope'" is one part of the story, the end of it actually. The story is longer and goes back to the time before this album's concept, so two more metal operas are likely to follow to complete a trilogy. In general, I find the metal opera concept fascinating and logical to me at this point of my career. I love classical music and just like in classical opera, in metal opera you can also create stories and have almost limitless possibilities musically. It is not so easy to stay fresh after a 25 year career, but this album is truly something special".

The track listing for "The Land Of New Hope" is:

1. Avalanche Anthem
2. A World Without Us
3. Enshrined In My Memory
4. In The Name Of The Rose
5. We Will Find A Way
6. Shine
7. The Magic Of The Night
8. To The Edge Of The Earth
9. I'll Sing You Home
10. The Land Of New Hope

A video EPK for the album can be seen here:

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Timo Tolkki's Avalon Reveals Cover & Track Listing"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.