"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Lunar Path Reveals "Memento Mori" Album Details

Lunar Path's debut album "Memento Mori" is due to be released on the 1st of February 2012 through Inverse Records.

"Memento Mori" is a concept album about a downward spiral in depression and death, set out to stretch the boundaries of traditional melodic/gothic metal with its dark and brooding atmosphere. This nightmarish journey through hell and back was inspired by arson, mishaps, bad luck as well as the lineup changes the band endured during these past years. These events shaped the band and transformed the album into a dynamic ensemble with warm and cold flashes of traditional metal and darkly progressive stunts, promising to raise eyebrows and make hearts race.

The album guest roster is filled with acclaimed musicians and vocalists such as Attila Csihar (Mayhem, Aborym), Tuomas Saukkonen (Before The Dawn, Black Sun Aeon), JP Leppäluoto (Charon, Northern Kings, Harmaja) and Antti Leskinen (Fatal Sound Project, Chained, Murena). The band commented on its history:

"Lunar Path was formed in late 2006, releasing a few demos and EPs, before starting to work on 'Memento Mori.' The band became victims of arson in early 2010 when a deranged person intentionally set fire to the ground floor of their practice flat while the band was playing, trapping them upstairs. During the attempt to reach safety guitarist and album producer Jonas Eriksson sustained severe damage to his foot, but luckily nobody else was hurt in the fire. The band didn't spend their time crying over spilled milk as a few months later the band toured Scandinavia supporting Deathstars and ex-Iron Maiden vocalist Paul Di'Anno; with Eriksson playing the entire tour sitting down with his broken leg in a cast.

"Lead vocalist Janica Lönn has also been working with Black Sun Aeon lately, most notably singing on their newly released and highly acclaimed 'Blacklight Deliverance' album. Aside from Lunar Path's tour plans she will also perform live with BSA at Summer Breeze 2012 and other European festivals next year."

The album's track listing is as follows:

I. The Beginning and the End
II. Promise Me
III. We'll Be There
IV. The One Behind the Mirror
V. Thin White Lines
VI. In The End (feat. J-P Leppäluoto)
VII. Deadweight
VIII. Farewell To Arms
IX. The Only Way Out Is Through
X. Walls Are Whispering (feat. Attila Csihar)
XI. Close The Door
XII. Nothing To Regret
XIII. Drag Me Down To Hell (feat. Tuomas Saukkonen and Antti Leskinen)
XIV. Who Are You Talking To?
XV. River Runs Deep

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Lunar Path Reveals 'Memento Mori' Details"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.