"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Akron, OH, United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Rue News

Below is our complete Rue news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Rue Streaming Song From New Album

In honor of Rue's new full-length "Thorns" being officially released, Pitchfork Media is hosting a brand new track from the pummeling album.

You can check out the song "For Thousands of Years" from the Akron, Ohio sludge metal act by heading over to this location.

Previously, the new track "Brown" was also released via The Obelisk, and is still streaming online right here.

The first Rue full-length to hit the streets in nearly eight years, "Thorns" is being released by longtime band cohorts Shifty Records. "Thorns" is available for direct purchase at this location.

0 Comments - Discuss

Rue Streaming New Song

Akron, Ohio’s sludge metal bastards Rue are preparing to unleash "Thorns," their first full-length album in over seven years, via Shifty Records. A street date of November 15th is now officially confirmed for the CD release, with a full-on vinyl pressing to follow in early 2012.

Today The Obelisk is offering the first taste of what Rue brings forth on "Thorns" by premiering the track “Brown,” which is streaming right here.

Rue also has the following upcoming tour dates:

11/4/2011 Howlers Coyote Cafe – Pittsburgh, PA w/ Vulture, Rebreather, Sistered
11/5/2011 Mulligan’s Pub – Grand Rapids, MI w/ Beast In The Field, Mountain Goat & Bert
11/6/2011 PJ’s Lager House – Detroit, MI w/ Beast In The Field
11/12/2011 The Outpost – Kent, OH w/ Chapstick, The Unclean, Breakneck Creek, Vulture

0 Comments - Discuss

Rue Posts New Album Artwork

Akron, Ohio-based sludge metal act Rue has again planted its vile seed, and in these putrid days of Summer, in this foul Year Of Our Lord 2011, the corrupted crop is nearing harvest. The vines sprouting forth will take the form of "Thorns," Rye’s first new release in over three years, and the band's first on CD in over seven.

The CD pressing of "Thorns" is set for release through independent stalwart Shifty Records on October 4th, 2011 and an LP pressing will follow at a later date. The cover artwork and track listing are available below.

1. Thorns
2. Brown
3. For Thousands of Years
4. Sadaver
5. Broken Arms Broken Wings
6. Storm and Sea
7. Preassures
8. Choice
9. Strong Will Evolve
10. High Iron Blues
11. Everfailure
12. A Walk of Lies
13. Thorns (Reprise)

0 Comments - Discuss

Rue Announces New Live Shows

Akron, Ohio based metallers Rue have announced the following three upcoming U.S. live shows:

5/1 2010 The Mailbox w/ Maegashira & Year of the Pig Lansing, Michigan , US
6/12 2010 Now That’s Class w/ Storm King, Red Sun & Deathcrawl Cleveland, Ohio , US
7/9 2010 Metal Shaker Chicago, Illinois, US

You can also check out sample Rue tracks via the band's MySpace page.

0 Comments - Discuss