"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Ides Of Gemini To Release New Album "Constantinople"

Ides of Gemini's new album "Constantinople" is set for North American release on May 29th, 2012 (May 28th in UK/EU), and was produced by the band, engineered and mixed by Chris Rakestraw (Danzig, Skeletonwitch) at Sunset Lodge Recording in Los Angeles, and features cover art by Timms and Bennett. The band's publicist issued the following press release:

"Ides of Gemini is a collusion of musical forces precipitated by the haunting and inimitable vocal prowess of singer/bassist Sera Timms, also of Los Angeles dark-psych alchemists Black Math Horseman. The compositions are the long-simmering mental fallout of veteran music and film journalist J. Bennett (guitar/backing vocals), who has spent most of the last 14 years writing for such publications as Decibel, Terrorizer, Revolver, Alternative Press and Thrasher. The third and final corner of the triangle is Kelly Johnston, whose martial drumming techniques and soaring backing vocals literally brought Ides of Gemini to life as a performing entity.

"Last year, Timms and Bennett recorded and self-released Ides of Gemini's four-song EP, The Disruption Writ, which was anointed 'My Favorite Demo of 2010' by the highly influential music blog Invisible Oranges. Lyrically, the songs detailed the terrifying permanence of dismemberment in all its unsettling forms: psychological, emotional and physical. Musically, though? Someone on the Internet called it 'dream doom.' Nobody likes to be pigeonholed, but Ides of Gemini will gladly take up temporary residence in that particular nook for the sake of shorthand. Which is to say that 'dream doom' will do the trick for now. And now is nothing if not fleeting. Mostly because Ides of Gemini are about to unveil their full-length debut, Constantinople, via Neurot Recordings."

Comments Bennett of the soul-searing offering: “To say that this album is the result of blood, sweat and tears is the understatement of the year. This record exists only by the sheer will and determination of the three band members. Personally speaking, I wrote about half the music during the five months of 2011 in which I was unable to walk. Constantinople means many things to Ides Of Gemini, but it is primarily an example of victory over horseshit.”

The "Constantinople" track listing is as follows:

1. The Vessel & The Stake
2. Starless Midnight
3. Slain In Spirit
4. Resurrectionists
5. One To Oneness
6. Reaping Golden
7. Austrian Windows
8. Martyrium
9. Old Believer

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Ides Of Gemini To Release New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.