"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Skyfire Announces Digital-Only EP

Swedish progressive death metal act SKYFIRE will release a 4-song, digital-only EP entitled "Fractal" in
July via Pivotal Rockordings. "Fractal" is made up of songs that were written between 2004’s "Spectral" and their yet-to-be-released September 2009 "Esoteric" album. SKYFIRE bassist Martin Hanner comments on the band's decision to release the EP:

"Since we spent way too much time in the studio writing and recording and too little time giving anything back to the fans, we discussed with our label about releasing a few songs we wrote in 2005 or so. We recorded, mixed, and mastered these alongside the ‘Esoteric’ songs with new vocalist Jocke and guitarist Johan in order to make them available to our fans. We knew these songs weren't going to make our full length, because by the time we had signed a deal, we were flowing with new ideas. However, letting these songs go unreleased was always something sad for us, so it's awesome that they will be available to the fans digitally with exclusive artwork and everything.”

"Fractal" marks the first official SKYFIRE release to feature new members Johan Reinholdz (guitars; ANDROMEDA, NONEXIST) and Joakim Karlsson (vocals; MARK:BLACK). All music was recorded, mixed and mastered at Powernest Studios with the exception of the track "Esoteric," which was mixed and mastered by Jonas Kjellgren (SCAR SYMMETRY, SONIC SYNDICATE, ZONARIA, THE ABSENCE). Vocals for all tracks were produced by THE FORSAKEN guitarist Patrik Persson.

Here is the tracklisting for "Fractal":

1. The Land of the Wolves
2. Bereaved in Denial
3. The Transgressor Within
4. Esoteric ("Esoteric" album preview track)

You can hear the new song “Esoteric” on the band's MySpace page.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Skyfire Announces Digital-Only EP"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.