"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Melvins Ready New Album and Tour

The Melvins have a brand new full-length waiting in the wings. Following on the heels of the ‘06 sludge-out, "(a) Senile Animal," the band’s new studio record is slated for release on July 8 through Ipecac Recordings. The eleven-track offering was recorded in January 2008 in Los Angeles, and is titled "Nude With Boots." The lineup is, once again, founding member King Buzzo, almost-founding-member Dale Crover, and drummer Jared Warren and bassist Coady Willis of Big Business.

In other Melvins news, the band will join Ipecac impresario Mike Patton in curating (and performing at) this year’s ATP Nightmare Before Christmas Festival. From December 5th through 7th, Butlins Holiday Resort in Minehead will play host to the event. You can already expect sets from "America’s Funnyman" Neil Hamburger, post-metal titans Isis, Big Business, and The Locust.

As previously reported, Melvins are hitting the road in July for a run through the states. All dates are with Big Business.

07-16 Santa Barbara,CA - Velvet Jones
07-17 Sacramento, CA - The Boardwalk
07-18 San Francisco, CA - Slim's
07-19 Reno, NV - Club Underground
07-21 Modesto, CA - Fat Cat
07-26 Seattle, WA - Showbox at the Market
07-29 Teton Village,WY - Mangy Moose
07-31 Denver, CO - Ogden Theatre
08-03 Madison, WI - High Noon Saloon
08-04 Chicago, IL - Double Door
08-05 Detroit, MI - Small's
08-06 Cleveland, OH - Grog Shop
08-07 Buffalo, NY - Town Ballroom
08-09 Boston, MA - Paradise Rock Club
08-10 Northampton, MA - Pearl Street
08-12 New Haven, CT - Toad's Place
08-13 Brooklyn, NY - Music Hall of Williamsburg
08-14 New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom
08-15 Baltimore, MD - Ottobar
08-16 Carrboro, NC - Cat's Cradle
08-17 Atlanta, GA - The Drunken Unicorn
08-18 Athens, GA - 40 Watt Club
08-20 New Orleans, LA - One Eyed Jacks

Here is the complete "Nude With Boots" tracklisting:

1. The Kicking Machine
2. Billy Fish
3. Dog Island
4. Dies Iraea
5. Suicide In Progress
6. The Smiling Cobra
7. Nude With Boots (MP3)
8. Flush
9. The Stupid Creep
10. The Savage Hippy
11. It Tastes Better Than The Truth

Melvins' "Suicide In Progress" and "Billy Fish" (Live)

Source: Plugin Music

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Melvins Ready New Album and Tour"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Txmetalhead writes:

The Melvins are fukkin' awesome, man.

# Jun 12, 2008 @ 2:10 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.