"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Finntroll To Release New Album In March

Spinefarm Records has set a March 28 Finnish release date for the fifth album from FINNTROLL, entitled "Ur Jordens Djup" ("From the Depths of the Earth"). The CD, which was recorded by Nino Laurenne at Sonic Pump studios in Helsinki, will be the group's first release with new vocalist Mathias Lillmåns (a.k.a. Vreth; Twilight Moon) following the departure of Tapio Wilska (Sethian, ex-Wizzard) last spring. Lillmåns is reportedly 24 years old, and like FINNTROLL's original vocalist, Katla Mathias, is Fenno-Swedish, with Swedish as his mother tongue.

"Ur Jordens Djup" track listing:

01. Gryning
02. Sång
03. Korpens Saga
04. Nedgång
05. Ur Djupet
06. Slagbröder
07. En Mäktig Här
08. Ormhäxan
09. Maktens Spira
10. Under Två Runor
11. Kvällning

A video clip of FINNTROLL performing one of the new songs last August at the Wacken Open Air festival in Wacken, Germany has been posted online at YouTube.com.

FINNTROLL parted ways with Wilska in January 2006 after "reach[ing] a situation in which we [found] it impossible to continue FINNTROLL" with their previous vocalist, according to a statement issued by the group a short time after the split.

Source: blabbermouth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Finntroll To Release New Album In March"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

AscendTrivium's avatar


1. AscendTrivium writes:

Awesome, loved Nattfodd and all of the other albums :D, excited for this one

# Jan 14, 2007 @ 12:45 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.