"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Graves At Sea / Sourvein Split Release Streaming

Just days preceding its public availability through Seventh Rule Recordings, Metal Hammer is now exclusively streaming the caustic split EP from Graves At Sea and Sourvein.

Side A of this crusher is ruled by two scathing numbers from Portland, Oregon's Graves At Sea, whose contributions leave an eerie aura complete with tortured vocals, foreboding composition, and a general sense of dread. Recorded by Billy Anderson, (Melvins, Sleep, Neurosis) "Betting On Black" and "Confession" thunder with the all-consuming sludge for which the band is notorious, flooding in amongst the tortured howls and shrieks of vocalist Nathan Misterek.

The resin-coated Cape Fear carnage of Sourvein overthrows the B-Side with three songs produced and recorded by Mike Dean of Corrosion Of Conformity. These odes of heavy -- "Driffter," "Equinox" and "Follow The Light" -- combine toxic riffs, grooves and just the right amount of psychedelic appeal.

Both sides were mastered by Brad Boatright (Sleep, Beastmilk, Nails) at Audiosiege Engineering and will be released via Seventh Rule on 160-gram vinyl as well as CD this Tuesday, May 13th.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Graves At Sea / Sourvein Split Streaming"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.