"some music was meant to stay underground..."

The Damning Well

Formed: 2003
From: United States
Last Known Status: Unknown


The Damning Well is a supergroup, of sorts, that was put together for recording a song for the soundtrack of "Underworld," a vampires-meet-werewolves flick starring Kate Beckinsale. The band consisted of Wes Borland (ex-Limp Bizkit guitarist), Danny Lohner (a producer, multi-instrumentalist and member of Nine Inch Nails), Josh Freese (A Perfect Circle drummer) and Richard Patrick (Filter mastermind), whom Borland had earlier hooked up with to record a song intended for either the soundtrack of "The Matrix Reloaded" or "Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life." That song never surfaced, but The Damning Well's "Awakening" made it as one of 19 tracks on the soundtrack to "Underworld."

It's hard to tell if The Damning Well will resurface again, as it seems to have been a one-off collaboration between the involved artists. But with Borland's effort, Eat The Day, being put on indefininte hold, who knows?

Latest The Damning Well News

Below is our complete The Damning Well news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Note: We began associating news directly with bands in late 2003. Therefore, earlier band news may not be listed on this page.

The Damning Well Revealed

For the past six months, Danny Lohner, a producer, multi-instrumentalist and member of NINE INCH NAILS, has been quietly bringing together artists like David Bowie, guitarist Wes Borland, FILTER frontman Richard Patrick, A PERFECT CIRCLE members Josh Freese and Maynard James Keenan, and RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS guitarist John Frusciante.

"We were basically trying to put together the most crazy combination of people who had anything to do with really cool, darker rock," Borland said.

They all appear as part of DAMNING WELL, a supergroup who's song 'Awakening' is one of 19 tracks on the soundtrack to "Underworld" which will hit stores September 2nd.

Here's the tracklisting: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss