"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: NY, United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Vaura News

Below is our complete Vaura news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Vaura Finishes Work On New Album

NY based progressive metal band Vaura has completed work on new album "The Missing." Profound Lore Records comments:

"Following last year’s 'Selenelion' release (Weird Records), Vaura (comprised of vocalist/guitarist Josh Strawn from Religious To Damn, guitarist Kevin Hufnagel from Gorguts and Dysrhythmia, bassist Toby Driver of Kayo Dot and Maudlin Of The Well, and drummer Charlie Schmid) take their unique style of combining progressive metal and classic ‘80s goth/darkwave into more defined and dense territory with 'The Missing.'

"With a sound and aesthetic influenced by the darker and more brooding moments of the aforementioned styles when they came to fruition in the ‘80s, Vaura also incorporate sounds also reminiscing the likes of post punk, early ‘90s indie rock, and shoegaze respectively along with some intricate moments found on 'The Missing' that even hark back to the heyday of classic-era Queensryche and 'Grace Under Pressure' era Rush.

"As the next proper step succeeding 'Selenelion,' with 'The Missing' (captured at The Thousand Caves by Colin Marston) VAURA solidify and define their sound even more by becoming one of the more distinct and creative bands from the NY area."

To officially be released October 29th, the track listing for “The Missing” is as follows:

1. The Missing
2. Incomplete Burning
3. The Fire
4. Mare Of The Snake
5. Pleasure Blind
6. Passage To Vice
7. The Things That We All Hide
8. Braced For Collapse
9. Abeyance
10. Putting Flesh To Bone More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss