"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Cannibal Corpse - "Kill" (CD)

Cannibal Corpse - "Kill" CD cover image

"Kill" track listing:

1. The Time To Kill Is Now
2. Make Them Suffer
3. Murder Whorship
4. Necrosadistic Warning
5. Five Nails Through The Neck
6. Purification By Fire
7. Death Walking Terror
8. Barbaric Bludgeonings
9. The Discipline Of Revenge
10. Brain Removal Device
11. Maniacal
12. Submerged In Boiling Flesh
13. Infinite Misery

Reviewed by on September 30, 2006

"The moment in that song is one of the most brutal sounding moments in metal history."

Grab your hatchets, knives, and saws, because Cannibal Corpse's latest release, "Kill," is the soundtrack to a night of gore with your favorite serial killer. One may call the album music for a madman, but in the same sense, that is why I love it.

When a person goes into a movie theater to watch a horror film, they expect to be scared and disturbed by what the screen shows. When a person picks up a Cannibal Corpse album, they expect to feel the brutality and overall heaviness that the band is known for. "Kill" is the soundtrack that a horror film audience can expect to listen to. This album defines chaos.

Upon first playing the album, the opening track "The Time to Kill is Now" gives me an image of some guy running through a town just killing EVERYTHING. The track is just extremely chaotic. It is a great opener, with a very fast tempo, and chant vocals from the singer, George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher. The track leaves any listener with a chattered spine, proving to be one of the most effective opening tracks of 2006. The album continues with random blast-beats, breakdowns/tempo changes, and really badass groove. Guitar Solos, as always, are Slayer-inspired, which accompanies the music fairly well.

The first 8 tracks on the album are all very solid. My favorite track would have to be "Five Nails Through The Neck" due to ferocious tempo change at 1:41. The moment in that song is one of the most brutal sounding moments in metal history. The song goes from a fast guitar rant, to a pause, then an extreme breakdown, with a mutilating scream, and one of the grooviest riffs on the entire album. That moment alone did it for me, and made "Kill" that much better. "Kill" is one of my favorite sounding of all the Cannibal Corpse albums, with a very fat sounding bass drum, and a harsh, meaty, juicy sounding guitar track. I could not ask for more in the production department.

Track 7, "Death Walking Terror," is one of the more slow tempo songs, but provides a change in the album, and it is a heavy track, none the less. But shortly after this song, the album begins to become a bit monotonous, and the riffs less memorable. Tracks 9 and on are much less effective than the first 8. The songs seem to be written without as much effort, and with less diversity. Yet, do not let this get you down. Most bands put out an 8 track album anyway, which makes this effort very worth the time to pick up. To Cannibal Corpse fans, this couldn't be a better album to pick up this year, and you'll probably mutilate some shit. To the rest of the death metal followers out there, "Kill" is an instant classic, and really eats most other acts alive today.

Cannibal Corpse has been around since 1988, and is the most successful death metal band to date. "Kill" solidifies this statement, and proves that no other band could have done it.

Highs: Face-melting first 8 tracks

Lows: Mediocre last 5 tracks

Bottom line: If you enjoy death metal that does not stop the stabbing, pick up "Kill."

Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls
4.5 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)