"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Into Eternity - "The Scattering Of Ashes" (CD)

Into Eternity - "The Scattering Of Ashes" CD cover image

"The Scattering Of Ashes" track listing:

1. Novus Inceptum (intro)
2. Severe Emotional Distress
3. Nothing
4. Timeless Winter
5. Out
6. A Past Beyond Memory
7. Surrounded By Night
8. Eternal
9. Pain Through Breathing
10. Suspension Of Disbelief
11. Paralyzed

Reviewed by on October 1, 2006

"If you like clean power vocals layered over growls, extremely fast and precise guitar playing, solid drumming and consistent and imaginative bass playing, Into Eternity is your band"

Into Eternity set to release "The Scattering of Ashes" on October 3, 2006 will surprise some fans with their 3rd release. They gained massive support with 2004's "Buried in Oblivion", which showcased the band's range as musicians and vocalists. The main difference in "The Scattering of Ashes" is that just when one didn't think Tim Roth's guitars could become anymore precise and maniacal, they have. Yet still maintaining artistry that is rare in popular music today. The songwriting also has become much more concise and powerful. Tim Roth's growls have become more of a vocal staple on this release as well, and offer a stunning contrast with those of Stu Block. Jim Austin (drums) and Troy Bleigh (who also provides vocals as well as bass) have a very obvious chemistry, and confidently provide a rhythmic background for the melodies to weave throughout.

The Scattering of Ashes is full of tight, fast paced and energetic songs with aggressive clean power metal style vocals and deep growls, as heard in the song "Nothing". The band clearly sticks to what they do best, but have evolved highly. The vocal melodies are catchy, particularly the chorus in "Timeless Winter".

Every song is solidly different than the one before it. Every vocal line is unique, as is every guitar run, every bass lick and drum kick. Each chorus proves itself catchy and memorable, as well as every complex and layered guitar solo. However, it is hard not to feel that toward the middle of the album, that the flow of the album has been somewhat slow, most likely due to the relentless battering of blast beats, growls and aggressive lines. Thankfully, then the ballad of the album comes midway and breaks up the monotony of the previous tracks.

The aforementioned ballad of the album, "Surrounded by Night", a very well written, movingly beautiful and smooth song which opens with layered acoustic guitar, finger picked. It gives the affect of a cool rain, with Stu's vocal entering softly with a catchy and delicate vocal melody. "Surrounded by Night" does not remain soft and subtle and breaks into a very charged and energetic chorus with aggressive clean vocals. This track breaks the album up and readies the listener for more solid songwriting and clean, strong vocals.

Overall "The Scattering of Ashes" only reinforces what Into Eternity fans already know; that if you like clean power vocals layered over growls, extremely fast and precise guitar playing, solid drumming and consistent and imaginative bass playing, Into Eternity is your band. They showcase their ability as musicians to mature, and evolve. They not only have stepped up their songwriting, but it seems as though they have truly meshed as a band. The lyrics are more complex and share similar themes with those on Buried in Oblivion, although it never feels as though you're listening to the second half of their previous record, every twice explored theme sounds new and fresh, as does each song. Despite the monotony of the vocals and instrumental sounds at some points, Into Eternity break it up and change it up right before a listener begins to become bored with a song. Stu Block has pushed his voice to new heights, ala Rob Halford style. Although I doubt Rob could muster Stu's emotional mid range. This album is concise, solid and tight.

Highs: Consistently good songwriting

Lows: Slightly monotonous, some vocal melodies too heavily echo previous ones

Bottom line: The Scattering Of Ashes is concise, solid and tight

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)