"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Bullet For My Valentine - "Scream Aim Fire" (CD)

Bullet For My Valentine - "Scream Aim Fire" CD cover image

"Scream Aim Fire" track listing:

1. Scream Aim Fire
2. Eye Of The Storm
3. Hearts Burst Into Fire
4. Waking The Demon
5. Disappear
6. Deliver Us from Evil
7. Take It Out On Me
8. Say Goodnight
9. End Of Days
10. Last To Know
11. Forever And Always

Reviewed by on February 4, 2008

"They definitely stopped with the whiny relationship bullshit, so that is a big plus"

The overly-anticipated new album from Bullet For My Valentine is finally here and I have spent several hours listening in order to finally write a decent review. I, as many of you, was a big fan of their debut, “The Poison,” and was extremely curious to how their sound would change. Hearing a few interviews from Matt Tuck, who basically explained the album was going to be a bit more metal throughout, I sort of had this idea in my head that they would actually be more brutal. On a few listens, I realized that they were putting themselves closer to that point, but it just really isn’t quite there yet.

I will get to the good points of the album. First off, great opening track, no more intro shit from the first album. I am not a big fan of intros, and if you buy an album, you want to listen to songs, not bullshit one-minute interludes. So thank god, right from the start, the album kicks ass. The track “Scream, Aim, Fire” shows off this new thrashy kind of sound I think they were missing from the first album. The thrashy-ness continues throughout the songs “Eye of the Storm,” “Waking The Demon,” “Disappear,” and “End of Days.” The tracks probe much deeper and feel much more sophisticated than a lot of the debut material. They definitely stopped with the whiny relationship bullshit, so that is a big plus. As far as band direction, the band has hit a different sound without losing much creativity from their debut. The choruses are all catchy and I even bought in on the third track, a slow 80’s-feel riff and standard 80’s acoustic-then-electric sound. In about one listen, I was singing along. The album, as a whole, is clean, tight, and soundly produced; as good as the first.

But as some fans might say, it isn’t better than their debut--just a standard, thrashier release from their usual sound. I can understand why. A lot of the tracks have sort of the same repetitious sound in them, and if you don’t listen carefully, a lot of them will make you think that you’ve already heard this track earlier on. But that is definitely the small lack of creativity when experimenting with this heavier sound. It all follows the same rules: single guitar starts off main riff, and then the whole band comes in. Besides this fact, they also make you feel like they didn’t try as hard as on their first album. Maybe it’s because I expected them to be more unique. They certainly attempt to create some of the magic of the first album. You will hear some licks and hooks on several tracks that will make you think that this song will get better and better. But that is how you should feel; it isn’t as unique and although I am thrilled that they are heavier in several songs, they also have a lot of weak songs that barely say something, like “Say Goodnight."

I think they’re in the right direction, but that they do have a lot to work on for their third album. Maybe it’s the pressure from the label or from earlier success that draws them to make such nonsense songs that exist on “Scream, Aim, Fire.” It is a solid album, and many of the previous fans will enjoy it. I still blast it in my car going to work, and that’s gotta say something.

And no, I do not buy the Rocky 4 cover. It isn’t metal, so I will not buy into it!

Highs: Newer, thrashier sound, 80's feel, tight, clean production, and no intro

Lows: Lack of creativity in some songs, same slow shit that weakened their debut

Bottom line: A great, respectable album from a band that is heading in the right direction.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls
3.5 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)