"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Burning Point - "The Ignitor" (CD)

Burning Point - "The Ignitor" CD cover image

"The Ignitor" track listing:

1. Eternal Flame
2. In The Fire's Of Myself - Made Hell
3. In The Night
4. The Ignitor
5. Silent Scream
6. Heaven Is Hell
7. Loosing Sleep
8. Demon Inside Of You
9. Everdream
10. Lost Tribe
11. Holier Than Thou

Reviewed by on May 30, 2012

"The problem is that once one gets over being impressed by this Finnish band's big guitar and keyboard-rich sound, there's little there to move the spirit."

One can't help but be impressed with the level of technical skill and symphonic grandiosity of Burning Point's "The Ignitor." The problem is that once one gets over being impressed by this Finnish band's big guitar and keyboard-rich sound, there's little there to move the spirit.

Granted, when you've got guitarists as technically proficient as Pekka Kolivuiri and Pete Ahonen, you're going to want to use them to maximum effect. The band does just that on the opening track, "Eternal Flame," which is easily the best song on the album. It starts with almost baroque acoustic guitar and keyboards before repeating the phrase, this time with full-on electric fury before heading into speedy power-metal territory, complete with Ahonen delivering a falsetto scream.

Ahonen's singing is quite good on songs like "Silent Scream" and "Everdream," though he's often buried in too many layers of background vocals.

Over-production is definitely an issue on "The Ignitor," with the aforementioned overwhelming backing vocals and extraneous layers of keyboard detracting from otherwise strong work on both "In The Fires Of Myself-Made Hell" and the similar "In The Night." The 1980s vibe on "The Lost Tribe," with its "Whoa"-filled chorus starts good, but grows a bit old as the song goes on.

In general the band is at its best when it abandons the overly lush sounds in favor of speed on "Heaven Is Hell" and "Holier Than Thou." That said, though the solos are impressive, the riffs on songs like "Loosing Sleep" and "The Ignitor" are merely serviceable.

It's easy to be impressed by the technical skill and big sounds on Burning Point's "The Ignitor," but there's nothing there that's going to set your soul on fire.

Highs: The excellent opener, "Eternal Flame"

Lows: An over-produced feel that drowns strong performances in too many backing vocals and keyboards.

Bottom line: Power metal fans will enjoy some great guitar work, but the album feels over-produced.

Rated 3 out of 5 skulls
3 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)