"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Kissin' Dynamite - "Money, Sex & Power" (CD)

Kissin' Dynamite - "Money, Sex & Power" CD cover image

"Money, Sex & Power" track listing:

1. Money, Sex & Power
2. I Will Be King
3. Operation Supernova
4. Sex Is War
5. Club 27
6. Dinosaurs Are Still Alive
7. She's A Killer
8. Sleaze Deluxe
9. Ego Shooter
10. Six Feet Under

Reviewed by on August 20, 2012

"Fans of '80s metal will have a blast listening to Kissin' Dynamite's 'Money, Sex & Power.'"

From their AC/DC-inspired name to the big crunchy riffs and wailing guitar lines, it's obvious that Kissin' Dynamite carries a great love of 1980s metal. "Money, Sex & Power" will delight fans of that era, with moments that recall everything from Hollywood glam to power- and thrash-metal tinged moments that will remind listeners of this German bands fellow countrymen Accept and the Scorpions. Unfortunately, unlike the band's last album, "Addicted To Metal," "Money, Sex & Power" doesn't have a ton of memorable material — though it is admittedly packed with some excellent guitar solos.

Of course, it's easy to forget that this band's early-'80s inspirations packed plenty of filler onto their albums. Is anyone really clamoring to hear "Slice Of Your Pie" or "She Goes Down" from Motley Crue's "Dr. Feelgood?" But I digress.

When the band's firing on all cylinders — as it most certainly is on the title track, which, quite wisely leads off the album — it's a lot easier to overlook some of the filler that follows. From the singalong fist-pumper of a chorus to Steffen Haile's bass growling underneath Ande Braun and Jim Muller's guitars, it's just about pitch-perfect.

The band captures the "are-they-fucking-or-fighting" vibe of '80s glam lyrics perfectly on "Sex Is War" and "She's A Killer." Another excellent tune lyrically speaking is "Dinosaurs Are Still Alive," which sings the praises of acts including Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, AC/DC, Aerosmith and Guns N' Roses in a way that's pretty clever.

Less impressive, both lyrically and musically is stuff like "Club 27," which is all about living fast and dying young, but never quite works as well as it needs to. "Sleaze Deluxe" also fails to impress, with a chorus that is aiming to get people's fists in the air, but somehow never quite makes it.

All that said, you can't deny that Jim Muller and Ande Braun turn in some excellent performances on guitar. Solos like the one near the end of "Sex Is War" take you on a ride all over the fretboard, while stuff like "Six Feet Under" shows off a bluesy swagger that it might've been nice to hear more of.

Fans of '80s metal will have a blast listening to Kissin' Dynamite's "Money, Sex & Power." Sure, there are a fair number of filler tracks, but nothing truly terrible.

Highs: "Sex Is War," "Dinosaurs Are Still Alive" and the title track, "Money Sex & Power"

Lows: A fair amount of filler, especially including "Club 27" and "Sleaze Deluxe."

Bottom line: A good '80s-inspired album, albeit one with a fair share of filler.

Rated 3 out of 5 skulls
3 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)