"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Delian League - "Truth In Chaos" (CD)

Delian League - "Truth In Chaos" CD cover image

"Truth In Chaos" track listing:

1. The Embrace
2. Epoch of Hate
3. Dejected
4. Lost in Sin
5. Star the Cross
6. The Questioning
7. Days of Regret
8. Your Casualty
9. Final Day
10. Trapped Inside

Reviewed by on August 21, 2007

"It is rare that I come across bands with talent that don’t show it off constantly."

It is rare that I come across bands with talent that don’t show it off constantly. Bands that display their talent through subtle licks that catch the ear after various listens are far and few between. Delian League is one of those bands. The band’s songwriting is based mostly off a combination of thrash and traditional metal, which is usually pretty generic, but it is taken to a whole new level when combined with their more progressive structure. Take the first song, “The Embrace,” for instance. It starts with a simple straight-up thrash riff. From this main riff they expand on it throughout the rest of the song, which really holds your interest, especially after many listens. This is something that many thrash and traditional metal bands lack as they repeat one riff over and over again. The vocals are aggressive and melodic, comparable to an early James Hetfield with more rasp and a deeper voice. The drummer and bassist carry the rhythm section very well, but at the same time, they aren’t so rhythmic that they lose their own purpose as an instrument. This is another element that is commonly heard in thrash and traditional metal bands. The drums keep a steady beat and the bass follows the guitar. The bass deviates from this path, which adds layers to the music and its complexity. This also adds tremendous lasting value to the music. The drums, which also don’t following the rhythm guitar, drive the rhythm and create a greater sense of independence and added level of interest. By interest, I mean those little subtleties that aren’t noticed after the first few listens, rather than the initial interest upon first listen. When these subtle fills or guitar transitions are heard, the listener appreciates the writing and musicianship more, especially since solos aren’t played in every song.

The production on this self-financed record is unbelievable. This could easily be a record on a big metal label like Century Media. Every instrument is heard and powerful and in your face, but the music still retains dynamics and a pumping feel when that kick drum hits. The effects on the vocals aren’t over the top either, as they usually are in many metal bands. The music is very dry in the effects area, though when they are used, it doesn’t overpower anything. The guitarist uses a wah-wah at times, which fits and doesn’t over-saturate the tone of the guitar. The only part of the whole record that has an unnecessary effect is a few seconds on the drums in the song “Days of Regret,” but I’m sure the band has their reasons.

To find imperfection in this brilliant CD is not easy. After many listens the section of this album that could have been removed or changed is the lyrics at certain points. I find that they are cheesy when coupled with the vocal style and lines the vocalist chose. Take the song “Dejected” for instance, towards the end he says, “Now I can’t breathe,” and he repeats it in a way that resembles a nu-metal or hardcore song, which really doesn’t fit the band’s style at all. I say this because no band is perfect, especially those that are just starting. This slight imperfection, in my opinion, doesn’t take away from the music. The lyrics, otherwise, match the aggressive music. The delivery is clear and articulate, something that should be a given among bands, but is often overlooked. Even when he growls, screams, and is very raspy, you understand every word said. This is good because the CD doesn’t come with a lyric sheet.

What really amazes me is that this band isn’t signed and can independently release their debut album at such an amazing and professional quality. This is one of the most consistent and solid record from an independent artist I’ve heard in a long time. Every time I hear it I don’t enjoy it any less or feel the need to skip over any song. If you are fans of progressive, thrash, traditional, or melodic death metal, I highly recommend checking out this band or buying this CD.

Highs: Musicianship and unique songwriting

Lows: The lyrics

Bottom line: Fans of thrash, progressive, traditional metal or melodic death metal should check this CD out.

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)