"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Evil Army - "Evil Army" (CD)

Evil Army - "Evil Army" CD cover image

"Evil Army" track listing:

1. Edge Of Destruction (0:43)
2. Evil Army (2:00)
3. Driven To Violence (1:18)
4. Realm Of Death (3:57)
5. Wrong Approach (1:13)
6. Sgt. Says Kill (1:52)
7. Conquer Human Life (3:28)
8. Severe Mental Disorder (1:06)
9. Relentless Assault (2:36)
10. Satan Made Me Do It (0:46)
11. Scum Of The Earth (1:13)
12. Watch Me Fall (3:27)
13. Friday The 13th (1:19)

Reviewed by on January 26, 2010

"Tight, concise, and consistent all the way through, this will be an album to come back to again and again."

Anyone notice all the hair metal throwback bands popping up nowadays? Evil Army is by no means a hair metal band, but their self titled full length is definitely somewhat of a throwback album. Playing straight, super tight thrash, Evil Army gets down to the basics with metal that isn’t innovative at all, but fans of the thrash genre will appreciate the tight musicianship and the serious amount of shredding that occurs.

From beginning to end, this album is nothing but thrash. The vocals are typical yells, the drums are very well mixed with a blistering bass drum and a pounding snare. The lyrics are typical violent tales of serial killers and aggressive angst and are fitting to the frenetic pace. The hooks and choruses are very catchy and never overused. The riffs are typical thrash and can get repetitive, but this album is short and sweet enough to look past that and get right down to headbanging.

The general structure of this album is great in that the songs are short enough to keep one’s attention, but not too long. The album never loses energy at all. What I like most about this album, though, are the solos. Every song has at least one solo and some songs have more than one, which absolutely make this album.

Longtime fans of the thrash genre will appreciate this album and probably experience a bit of nostalgia listening to it, but I would also recommend “Evil Army” to new fans as well. “Evil Army” is simply a well put together album. Tight, concise, and consistent all the way through, this will be an album to come back to again and again.

Highs: Catchy, engaging thrash that boasts a high production quality.

Lows: Some repetitive sections.

Bottom line: Tight thrash that is nothing new but is just good, consistent metal.

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)