"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Rage - "Resurrection Day" (CD)

Rage - "Resurrection Day" CD cover image

"Resurrection Day" track listing:

1. Memento Vitae (Overture)
2. Resurrection Day
3. Virginity
4. A New Land
5. Arrogance And Ignorance
6. Man In Chains
7. The Age Of Reason
8. Monetary Gods
9. Mind Control
10. Traveling Through Time
11. Black Room
12. Extinction Overkill

Reviewed by on September 24, 2021

"It's on par with the likes of Judas Priest's, 'Firepower' or 'Open The Gates' by Manilla Road. It's honestly that good."

There are always those bands about which people will say, "They deserved to be so much bigger." Headbangers have said it regarding Diamond Head, Raven, Testament, and there will be thousands who made the same statement about German veterans, Rage. Having originally formed under the name Avenger in 1984, the band would change their name to their more familiar moniker and release a truckload of great heavy metal music over the next thirty-odd years. Now plying their trade as a quartet once more, their first album with their new lineup comes in the form of "Resurrection Day," and not only has it surpassed expectations, but it may be the best Rage album to date.

Anyone familiar with the band will know about their long history with classical music and so it comes as no surprise that the record begins with a short but beautiful orchestral intro, which leads nicely into the title track, a perfect slice of classic Rage. It's that darker side of power metal fused with speed, which has endeared not only Rage but several of their contemporaries to listeners for years. It also begins the pattern of each song being seamlessly woven into the next, giving way to the bouncy grooves of "Virginity," which also boasts a wonderful anthemic chorus.

Indeed, anthems are the order of the day here, as "A New Land," "Man In Chains," and "Mind Control" were all designed to be played in front of a packed crowd. Any song that forces the listener to sing along halfway through is doing a very good job, and each of those was able to do just that, while it's easy to hear why "Monetary Gods" was picked to be a single.

Not only are there plenty of anthems though, but there are also a few risks and experiments on display. This is most notable in "Traveling Through Time," which sees Rage take on the folk metal genre in their own way. The following track "Black Room" is a more somber affair that veers dangerously close to being bleak, but still gives the listener plenty of power metal goodness to cling to and turns into a stomping behemoth.

Each of these songs combines to forge an incredible album, filled with everything lovers of old-school heavy and power metal enjoy. It's on par with the likes of Judas Priest's, "Firepower" or "Open The Gates" by Manilla Road. It's honestly that good. Rage has never been shy of hard work or hard-rocking and the combination of both really pays off with "Resurrection Day." It's a treat for longtime fans, those who were disappointed by more recent releases will see it as a return to form and those who found their way into metal through traditional and speed metal icons will love this album for the masterclass that it is.

Highs: Soaring anthems, neck breaking speed and some of the best songwriting from the band in decades.

Lows: Very hard to find any to be quite honest. It's maybe lacking that final punch which would cement it as a classic metal album.

Bottom line: Not only the best Rage album in a long time but the best power metal album of the year.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls
4.5 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)