"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

The Sarcophagus - "Beyond This World's Illusion" (CD)

The Sarcophagus - "Beyond This World's Illusion" CD cover image

"Beyond This World's Illusion" track listing:

1. Reign of Chaos
2. Ain Sof
3. Dymadiel
4. The Profanity Rites
5. Sapremia of Earthly Creatures
6. Triumphant Divine Terror
7. Armoured Death
8. Flaming Key to Divine Wisdom
9. Apocalyptic Beast

Reviewed by on April 25, 2017

"...dark, occult metal that brings to mind such bands as Lord Belial and Naglfar."

“Beyond This World’s Illusion” is the second full-length album from Turkey’s The Sarcophagus, following a couple of EPs. Said recording is composed of dark, occult metal that brings to mind such bands as Lord Belial and Naglfar.

“Reign of Chaos” starts the album on a good note, but I hesitate to say the word “good” for a band that is so evil. The guitars are dramatic and melodic and the song is reminiscent of Naglfar. Much of the album follows this tremolo-picked formula, and while all the tracks have a connectivity, there is something different and unique about every one. The production is kind of soupy, which is often the case for black metal albums. The vocals are very throaty but understandable if given a close listen. While there is the occasional speed burst, especially in the drumming, there is a lot of medium tempos on display, or at least medium paces for black metal.

“Ain Sof,” (not sure about the language, but it probably is a phrase to conjure some unclean spirit), shows the band bring the tempo to a near stand-still. During these parts, Nahemoth - who also provides guitar and vocals 0 provides a simple-but-hammering beat that tends to stick out from the rest of the song. “The Profanity Rites” also features some melody in the guitar. There is an acoustic guitar part on “Triumphant Divine Terror,” but it has a strong dynamic back into heavier territories. Both of these songs’ melodies bring to mind Finland’s Lord Belial. “Armoured Death” shows the band really push the pace as one of the fastest tracks on the album.

The Sarcophagus is not doing anything out of the norm, in fact, the name isn’t even out of the ordinary as there are bands like Sarcófago and even Sarcophagus, but the band does this style well, so the album is worth the listen. Fans of the aforementioned groups should find the album to be an enjoyable listen. “Beyond This World’s Illusion” has a dualistic nature that makes it both scathing and melodic, and its good hearing something come out of Asia that brings a sound that could have easily been created in Scandinavia.

Highs: The album is fairly diverse in tempo and movement.

Lows: The Sarcophagus isn't bringing anything new or particularly special.

Bottom line: Worth listening to if black metal is your forte.

Rated 3 out of 5 skulls
3 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)