"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Sodom - "Decision Day" (CD)

Sodom - "Decision Day" CD cover image

"Decision Day" track listing:

1. In Retribution
2. Rolling Thunder
3. Decision Day
4. Caligula
5. Who Is God?
6. Strange Lost World
7. Vaginal Born Evil
8. Belligerence
9. Blood Lions
10. Sacred Warpath
11. Refused To Die

Reviewed by on September 14, 2016

"... fans will get exactly what they want from Sodom on the album."

Of the so called "three kings" of German thrash metal, Sodom has always been the most consistent. They never split up like Destruction or deviated too much from their sound as Kreator did; instead they have continued for for thirty five years, releasing a steady stream of intelligent and aggressive thrash metal. With their latest album, "Decision Day," the fifteenth studio effort from the group, Sodom continue to stake their claim as one of the most aggressive thrash bands not just from Germany, but the world.

While some bands from the heyday are merely rehashing their old material with nothing new to offer, Sodom, like other contemporaries such as Onslaught and Testament, demonstrate here that it's possible to stay true to your roots while moving with the times. "Decision Day" retains the key characteristics of the band, which is abundantly clear on the opening track, "In Retribution." The song includes a great chorus that will help it go over well in a live setting, along with some excellent riffs, the latter a feature that remains present throughout the entire album. It sets the scene perfectly for the full speed thrash assault that "Decision Day" is.

Though the record is consistent in it's aggression, there's quite a bit of variation to be found. From the surprising melodic passage on the appropriately named, "Rolling Thunder," to the punk homage in "Blood Lions" on to the almost Middle Eastern tinged bridge in "Belligerence." In addition, there's some great bass intros on the excellent "Caligula" and "Strange Lost World," the former of which is a little reminiscent of Motorhead, as well as the trademark rasping voice of Tom Angelripper, ensuring that fans will get exactly what they want from Sodom on the album.

All this is what makes for an interesting thrash album. Sodom aren't relying on their reputation or past efforts to carry them, they're just as creative as they were thirty years ago and this is what's made them one of the most beloved groups in thrash today.

Highs: "Caligula," "Strange Lost World," and "Rolling Thunder" particularly stand out.

Lows: There are no bad tracks on the album, but they can't all be great ones, leading some to look a little weaker than others.

Bottom line: Another excellent album from the thrash metal legends. Pick it up if you're a fan of the band or the genre.

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)