"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Mumakil - "Behold The Failure" (CD)

Mumakil - "Behold The Failure" CD cover image

"Behold The Failure" track listing:

1. Brothers In Slavery
2. Barbecue In Bhopal
3. Get Wasted or Die
4. Black Sheep
5. Whip Reward
6. Eye of Wrath, The
7. Control
8. State of War
9. Order is Fucked Up, The
10. I-Bomb
11. Useless Fucks
12. Without Grief
13. Pigs On Fire
14. Worms of Chaos
15. Daily Punishment
16. Pisskeeper
17. Behold the Failure
18. Regression
19. Wish You the Worst
20. Let There Be Meat
21. Parasites
22. In Cold Blood
23. Face Reality
24. Apathy
25. Crawler
26. Mass Murder Institution
27. Doomed

Reviewed by on March 30, 2009

"“Behold the Failure” succeeds on virtually every level."

For those fortunate enough to have survived Mumakil's previous bombardment, 2006's "Customized Warfare," remain on guard--a second wave looms overhead. With their Relapse Records debut, "Behold the Failure," Mumakil somehow manage to ramp up the intensity with 27 tumultuous cuts. The band's stock in trade is unrelenting death-grind. It’s not for the weak of heart, or even the average metal fan.

Album opener "Brothers in Slavery" pulls no punches. There are no tension building atmospherics or spoken word samples, but rather a continuous assault of blade-sharp, concrete-heavy riffing and bulleting blasts. Vocalist Thomas (of Stumpfucking fame) sounds like an escaped mental patient unleashing years of pent up derangement on his keepers. Often his guttural roars apex with raspy shrieks. Drummer Seb comes across like a gatling gun behind the kit, every drumhead and cymbal is under attack at all times. While each song is dense and complex, the result is never clinical or flashy. Though bands like Beneath the Massacre and Origin can match this speed and intensity, the former lacks personality and the latter tends toward elaborate technicality. Mumakil usually connect, whether it’s with the relative groove of “Worms of Chaos,” the hairpin turns of “I-Bomb” or the outlandish fury of the oddly titled “Apathy.”

“Behold the Failure” succeeds on virtually every level. Guitarist Jerome (Knut) and bassist Jeremy (Nostromo) cut a path of destruction with every riff. Their performances call to mind uzis and chainsaws roaring through a tunnel shared by a speeding train. The band doesn’t let up—ever. Only between tracks does Mumakil allow themselves or the listener a breather. Either by design or merely achieving the limit of what is humanly possible, few songs ever reach the two minute mark. Only the keenest of ears and minds will manage to find distinction from one track to the next—a prospect that will prove challenging to the uninitiated but rewarding to the patient.

Highs: The instrumental violence of this band positively avalanches from the speakers, burying the listener beneath riffs and blasts.

Lows: The band’s laser focus on constant savagery can make the experience feel one dimensional.

Bottom line: This is unrelenting grind that would make Nasum proud. Fans of 2006’s “Customized Warfare” are in for a real treat but no surprises. “Behold the Failure” is a solid contender for heaviest album of 2009—consider yourself forewarned.

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)