"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Disturbed - "Indestructible" (CD)

Disturbed - "Indestructible" CD cover image

"Indestructible" track listing:

1. Indestructible
2. Inside The Fire
3. Deceiver
4. The Night
5. Perfect Insanity
6. Haunted
7. Enough
8. The Curse
9. Torn
10. Criminal
11. Divide
12. Facade

Reviewed by on August 14, 2008

"the album probably won't draw many new fans, but it won't disapoint fans of Disturbed either"

"Indestructible" marks the fourth full length release from Disturbed and stays as true to the sound they created as with their original album. With that said, the album probably won't draw many new fans, but it won't disappoint fans of Disturbed either.

"Indestructible" begins with the title track and the sound of an air raid siren. This immediately made me question how this album would be as air raid sirens are used too much as a song intro on rock and metal albums in my opinion. But albums aren't about sound effects; they're about music, and the song itself is really good. "Indestructible" is pretty different than the opening, self-titled track on "Ten Thousand Fists" but maintains their trademark sound and has a great sense of excitement to it. The lyrics are interesting too, as Draiman attempts to put himself in the boots of a soldier stationed overseas. "Indestructible" is a good start to the album, but not up to par with "Ten Thousand Fists" as an opener.

The album's first single, "Inside The Fire," follows. The song is a little reminiscent of "Stricken" and just as capable of being a live staple. Again, the lyrics are good, and contain a clearly personal tone. The song has a catchy and almost fun chorus, which serves as another factor to include it in the live set. Something I personally like about the song is the guitar solo. It's not going to sound like a Joe Satriani solo and anyone who expects all solos to sound as impressive is a fool, but the solo fits the song perfectly and doesn't sound too flashy, which is a problem for a lot of solos. This song was the perfect choice for the first single and is a great song in its own right.

The album takes a short dip, however, after "Inside The Fire," as the song "Deceiver" follows. The song isn't bad but is a big change from the previous two songs kills some of the momentum the album had going for it. However, it's a pretty good song and Disturbed fans won't dislike it.

A highlight on the album was "Perfect Insanity," which was originally written during the "The Sickness" sessions. It carries a sense of focus and determination with it and doesn't stop. The band should have perhaps used this song on an earlier release such as "Believe," as it's too good to keep away for such a long period of time.

The album takes another dip after this, unfortunately, as the songs "Haunted" and "Enough" slow the flow of the album down and aren't as memorable as other songs that Disturbed have written. They aren't terrible songs by any means, but they seemed to be more like album filler than songs they were hoping to become singles or live staples. Whilst the next song, "The Curse," makes up for this slip, the same thing happens with "Torn," which seems to be designed to have a haunting and dark feel to it - a style they captured better with the song "Overburdened" on "Ten Thousand Fists."

Thankfully, the album picks up again and doesn't give up the momentum. The final three songs, "Criminal," "Divide" and "Facade," contain a hard and more aggressive approach than a lot of other songs on the album and that's what Disturbed is best at.

Overall, "Indestructible" is plainly an album for fans of the band. It doesn't explore much new in the ways of sound, but it has some fantastic songs on it. As previously stated, Disturbed hasn't strayed away from the sound they're known for, which won't disappoint the fans, but chances are if you didn't like any of their previous work, you won't like "Indestructible." In relation to their last effort "Ten Thousand Fists," "Indestructible" doesn't flow as well and could do with a few more harder songs. All in all, "Indestructible" is an album that Disturbed seem to feel they had to make and was by no means a mistake, as it defines what many would consider as a good rock album.

Highs: Contains some of Disturbed's most aggressive work to date

Lows: Some of the songs seem pointlessly slow and detract from the momentum previous songs help build

Bottom line: "Indestructible" is an album for fans of Disturbed and probably not much more.

Rated 3 out of 5 skulls
3 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)