"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Kill Devil Hill - "Revolution Rise" (CD)

Kill Devil Hill - "Revolution Rise" CD cover image

"Revolution Rise" track listing:

1. No Way Out
2. Crown Of Thorns
3. Leave It All Behind
4. Why
5. Wake Up The Dead
6. Long Way From Home
7. Where Angels Dare To Roam
8. Stained Glass Sadness
9. Endless Static
10. Stealing Days
11. Life Goes On

Reviewed by on August 1, 2014

"The sophomore slump strikes on supergroup Kill Devil Hill's second outing, 'Revolution Rise.'"

The sophomore slump strikes on supergroup Kill Devil Hill's second outing, "Revolution Rise." Granted, there probably was nowhere to go but down following the band's stellar self-titled debut disc. Still, after coming on strong, "Revolution Rise" starts to fall midway through - and is at least two songs too long to boot.

There's no lack of technical skill here, especially when guitarist Mark Zavon gets to cut loose with one of his Zakk Wylde-style Southern-fried solos. The fretwork on "No Way Out" and "Crown Of Thorns" alone is probably worth the price of admission.

Dewey Bragg's still got the Layne Staley meets Phil Anselmo thing going on vocally. That gives "Why" and the ominous "Wake Up The Dead" a great Alice In Chains vibe.

Unfortunately, drummer Vinny Appice isn't nearly as engaged as he was on the previous disc. He especially seems to be phoning it in on "Stealing Days," which, along with the preceding track, "Endless Static," ought to have failed to make the cut for this album. Both the riffs and the vocals are quite uninspired on both.

All that said, "Revolution Rise" isn't a bad album. It just isn't as great as the first disc proved that this band could be.

Highs: Mark Zavon's guitar work and Dewey Bragg's vocals shine on several tracks

Lows: The tail end of the album loses steam, with two tracks that are pure filler.

Bottom line: A decent effort, bit one that falls short of the band's excellent debut.

Rated 3 out of 5 skulls
3 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)