"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Metal News for April 7, 2005

Last updated on August 5, 2021 at 3:09 AM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

13 news articles posted on this day.

Misery Index Dropped From Deicide Tour

Misery Index have apparently been dropped from the upcoming Deicide, Immolation, Skinless, and With Passion tour, which is scheduled to kick off in late-May. According to the band, they've "summarily booted" from the tour "due to persistent issues and problems over the last few months with the booking agent." Instead, look for Misery Index on the road in the Northeast with Magrudergrind and Rotten Sound in late-May.

1 Comment - Discuss

Heathen Ink Deal With Thundering Records

Reunited San Francisco heavy metal thrashers HEATHEN have inked an exclusive French licensing deal with Thundering Records/Manitou Music. Heathen have also posted a two-minute rough sample of a brand new track with "scratch" vocals at this location.

In related news, HEATHEN have been confirmed for the Headbangers Open Air 2005 festival, set to take place July 9-10 in Germany. The group are also slated to perform at the Thrash Till Death festival on July 15-16, 2005 in Wendessen, Germany.

0 Comments - Discuss

Slayer "Still Reigning" DVD Is Certified Gold

"Still Reigning," Slayer's live-in-concert DVD released last November 2, has been certified GOLD, it was announced today. In addition, "Sill Reigning" was named Best DVD in Revolver Magazine's 2005 Readers' Poll (June issue, out May 3), making this the second consecutive year that Slayer has topped a category in the Poll. "Still Reigning" is Slayer's second GOLD DVD, the first being "War at the Warfield" which was released in 2003.

"Still Reigning" is 80-minutes of intense, brutal Slayer live-in-concert that includes the original band performing, in its entirety, "Reign In Blood," their 28-minute benchmark album hailed as the greatest speed metal album of all time. That segment of the DVD closes with Slayer's "Wall of Blood" drenching the band, their instruments, and the stage by a downpour of theatrical blood.

Slayer will tour many of the major European rock festivals this summer, and will then go into the studio to record the follow up to 2001's "God Hates Us All," expected out late this year.

6 Comments - Discuss

New Devildriver Album Tracklisting Revealed

DEVILDRIVER, the Santa Barbara, California-based band featuring former COAL CHAMBER singer Dez Fafara, have finalized the track listing for their sophomore album, "The Fury of Our Maker's Hand", due on June 28 via Roadrunner Records.

The follow-up to DEVILDRIVER's 2002 critically-acclaimed self-titled debut, "The Fury of Our Maker's Hand" was produced by Colin Richardson (MACHINE HEAD, FEAR FACTORY, NAPALM DEATH) at Sonic Ranch Studios in El Paso, TX and is "way heavier and much faster" than its predecessor, according to Fafara.

"The Fury of Our Maker's Hand" track listing:

01. End Of The Line
02. Driving Down The Darkness
03. Grinfucked
04. Hold Back The Day
05. Sin & Sacrifice
06. Ripped Apart
07. Pale Horse Apocalypse
08. Just Run
09. Impending Disaster
10. Bear Witness Unto
11. Before The Hangman's Noose
12. The Fury Of Our Maker's Hand

DEVILDRIVER is Dez Fafara (vocals), Jon Miller (bass), John Boecklin (drums) and Jeff Kendrick and Mike Spreitzer on guitar.

2 Comments - Discuss

CoC's "In The Arms Of God" Listening Party

Real.com is hosting an online listening party for Corrosion Of Conformity's new album 'In The Arms Of God', released Tuesday (April 5). You can listen to the album in full here.

0 Comments - Discuss

New Ruins Song For Download, Tracklisting Revealed

Australian black metallers RUINS, who feature in their ranks multi-instrumentalist Alex Pope on vocals, guitars and bass, alongside drummer David Haley from PSYCROPTIC and THE AMENTA, have finalized the track listing for their full-length debut, "Spun Forth As Dark Nets", due in June via Neurotic Records. The CD was recently mastered by Tue Madsen at his Antfarm studio in Denmark.

"Spun Forth As Dark Nets" track listing:

01. Spun Forth Dark Nets
02. Cold Dark Sea
03. Long And Mournful Shores
04. Draw Near The Ice
05. No Trace Or Rumour
06. The Ends of the Earth
07. Loops of Time
08. Feed the Emptiness

An MP3 of the track "No Trace Or Rumour" is available in the multimedia section at neurotic-records.com.

0 Comments - Discuss

Tristania To Shoot New Video

Norway's Tristania have announced that they will shoot a music video for Libre, the opening track on the new album. The shooting will take place in late May, in Stockholm, Sweden. Mats Lundberg, who previously did the video for Heretique as a pet project, will be directing the video.

"This is another project we are really looking forward to. Expect a blood-sodden, torn and holey, rotten through the core ... video", says the band.

0 Comments - Discuss

Dutch Nightwish Fanclub To Hold Metal Meeting

From the official Nightwish site:

On the 21st of May the first edition of the Stargazers Metal Meeting will take place in de Goudvishal in Arnhem (NL). This event is organized by StarGazers, the official Dutch Nightwish Fanclub. From 15:00 on the Stargazers cafe is open for visitors to meet. A lottery is held and the StarGazers crew will sell fanclub merchandise. Starting at 18:00 the following bands will perform: Xystus, Nemesea and Morning. For this unique occasion the bands will pay special attention to Nightwish. Tickets are sold through Stargazers at www.stargazers.nl/shop. StarGazers welcomes foreign visitors; Arnhem is close to Germany.

For more information visit www.stargazers.nl.

0 Comments - Discuss

God Dethroned New Video Available Online

Dutch Death metallers GOD DETHRONED have posted the following on their official website:

The Lair Of The White Worm video clip is online now! No fancy shit, just pure underground black & white blasphemy. Click here to download the video.

3 Comments - Discuss

Just For Fun

Black Metal Boosts Language Interest

A deep enthusiasm for the Norwegian languages is thriving at La Sapienza University in Rome. The modern and historical languages are seen as an exotic and romantic subject thanks to student passion for Norwegian Black Metal bands.

Teacher Sven Otto Scheen's class full of black leather and metal-studded pupils in Rome is part of the NRK (Norwegian Broadcasting) series Typisk Norsk (Typically Norwegian), which examines aspects of the Norwegian language.

Almost all of the 15 students studying Norwegian in Scheen's class are doing so because of their devotion to Norwegian Black Metal bands. More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss

Domination Black Sign To Poison Arrow Records

Finnish heavy metal band DOMINATION BLACK have inked a deal with Poison Arrow Records. The band will be entering studio this summer and begin recording an as-yet-untitled album for a fall 2005 release.

Commented a spokesperson for Poison Arrow Records: "When you listen to DOMINATION BLACK you can hear their old-school metal influences like JUDAS PRIEST mixed with a vicious thrash metal twist. Their sound is unique!"

1 Comment - Discuss

House Of Wax Gets Heavy

My Chemical Romance, Deftones, Marilyn Manson and The Stooges will all have songs featured on the soundtrack album that accompanies new movie 'House Of Wax', a re-make of the 1953 horror classic. Released by Maverick in early May, the record also features The Prodigy and Disturbed.

44 Comments - Discuss

AILD, Throwdown, ATR Photos Posted

Photos from the March 29 As I Lay Dying / Throwdown / All That Remains show at Richard's on Richards in Vancouver, BC have been posted here.

1 Comment - Discuss