"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Metal News for April 6, 2014

Last updated on September 28, 2021 at 3:19 AM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

8 news articles posted on this day.

Shining Posts Full Festival Set Online

Norwegian blackjazz outfit Shining has returned to North America to kick off a spring tour with The Dillinger Escape Plan. Full dates can be found below. To whet North American fans’ appetites, the band has released video footage of a complete performance at Norwegian music festival, Øya.

Frontman Jørgen Munkeby commented: “One thing that sets our live shows apart from albums is our extended, improvised transitions between songs, and this show has some of the coolest improvised sections. Just check out the last songs, ‘HEALTER SKELTER’ and ’21st Century Schizoid Man!’” More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Castle Posts "Temple Of The Lost" Video

Heavy metal cultists Castle will release third album, “Under Siege,” in North America via Prosthetic Records on May 20th. The eight-track release was recorded at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland with producer Billy Anderson (Sleep, Neurosis).

A music video video for the album’s first single “Temple of The Lost” can now be seen below. Castle has also announced a string of new tour dates, which are available after the jump. The "Under Siege" track listing is:

1. Distant Attack (3:48)
2. Be My Ghost (4:06)
3. A Killing Pace (4:27)
4. Pyramid Lake (4:18)
5. Powersigns (3:54)
6. Labyrinth of Death (4:30)
7. Temple of the Lost (4:46)
8. Evil Ways (4:02) More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Ektomorf Releases New Music Video

Ektomorf has released a new music video, available below, and the band also comments:

"Ladies and gentlemen, we give you - 'You Can't Control Me' - taken from the new album 'Retribution.' This is our second video to debut in 2014, ENJOY it, SHARE it on Facebook and SHARE it with your sound-system!!! Let the whole neighbourhood know that Ektomorf is oooooon!"

The "Retribution" album's track listing is as follows:

01. You Can’t Control Me
02. Ten Plagues
03. Face Your Fear
04. Escape
05. Who The Fuck Are You
06. Numb And Sick
07. Lost And Destroyed
08. Souls Of Fire
09. I Hate You
10. Watch Me
11. Mass Ignorance
12. Save Me
13. Whisper
14. Collapsed Bridge More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Diocletian Posts New Song

Diocletian has a new track out now titled "Steel Jaws," which will be featured on upcoming album "Gesundrian." Give the track a listen below, and keep your eyes peeled for the release of "Gesundrian" this coming May via Omsose Productions.

0 Comments - Discuss

Dark Ravage Streaming New Track

Lithuanian black metal outfit Dark Ravage has released the song "Fear to Be Betrayed by Oneself," which is taken from the album "Fall of Inner Sanctum." Check out the track below, or you can find more info on Dark Ravage at the group's Facebook page here.

0 Comments - Discuss

Headline News

The Gates Of Slumber Bassist Passes Away

The Gates of Slumber called it quits last September when bassist Jason McCash suddenly departed the band.

Now vocalist/guitarist Karl Simon has posted the following brief message online via Facebook about McCash passing away:

"My best friend died last night. There will be no reunion - no more of TGoS. It's dead beyond dead, and I've lost a brother. Please be respectful or silent. It's a small world and I'm still alive. Remember that shit."

The band's "Stormcrow" EP came out last year and was also marked by a video for the track "Death March," which can be seen below. More...

Read more...  |  2 Comments - Discuss

Kadavar Kicks Off North American Tour

Berlin-based psychedelic power rock trio Kadavar just launched a North American headlining tour in Houston, TX.

The scheduled five week trek -- presented by Scion AV -- will see the band take the stage in 25 major markets across the U.S. and Canada in support of latest LP "Abra Kadavar."

"We are excited to return to North America and our amplifiers are at the ready," comments Kadavar vocalist / guitarist Christoph Lindemann. "We hope you are ready for what we are bringing your way. See you soon." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Contrarian Releases New EP

New York death metal outfit Contrarian has a new EP out now titled "Predestined." You can hear the songs below, or pick up a digital copy of the release via the Contrarian Bandcamp page. The "Predestined" track listing is:

1. Predestined 06:20
2. Libertarian Manifesto 03:13
3. Diogenes At Delphi 06:31

"Predestined" was recorded at Watchman Studios in Lockport, NY with all production handled by Doug White and artwork created by Marco Hasman. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss