"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

New LP "Cybersteria" To Be Released By PowerWorld, New Vocalist Named

German melodic power metal act PowerWorld has announced that the band's third LP will be entitled "Cybersteria." The album was produced by Ilker Ersin at his MusikundWeb studios in Hirschaid near Bamberg, Germany, and mastered by Tommy Newton (Victory/UFO). "Cybersteria" will be released in Germany on May 24th, in Europe on May 27th and in the US/Canada on June 4th through SPV/Steamhammer as CD and digital download.

"Cybersteria" is a conceptual album (a combination of "cyber" and "hysteria"). The press release reads: "What was considered as Orwellian fiction back in 1984 has become reality in 2013 - the surveillance society. In times of Facebook and Skype, true privacy seems to exist only where exposure through the media is consistently rejected."

Mastermind Ersin states: "There's almost a kind of hysteria when it comes to the Internet and digital pseudo-realities. Our new songs aren't a concept album in the narrower sense, but as usual the whole album is held together by a central theme. This time the leitmotif is emotional impoverishment which is increasingly supported by the new media. At the end of the day, social networks have the opposite effect of what they suggest: they make people grow lonely."

The instruments were recorded by Ersin, guitarist Andreas Rippelmeier, keyboardist Marco Grasshoff, drummer Guido Gallus and the band's new vocalist Michael Bormann (ex-Jaded Heart). Bormann stepped in on short notice for David Reece, after his split with the band.

Ersin explains what happened with David Reece: "It transpired during the recordings that David and I have different approaches which cannot be combined under the moniker of PowerWorld. As a result, we decided to end our collaboration. There were no hard feelings between David and me, it was simply a decision by two grown men who agreed to follow their gut instincts." Bormann originally filled in during the band's most recent tour after former vocalist Andrew "Mac" McDermott passed away in August 2011. Borman was also scheduled to take place in the choir for "Cybersteria."

Ersin commented on Bormann's performance: "Michael did a brilliant job and even rewrote the lyrics with me. We're not only totally thrilled, but also very grateful for his support."

The track list for "Cybersteria" is:

1. Children Of The Universe
2. Slave To The Powerworld
3. Back On Me
4. World Knows Your Secrets - Virtuality
5. You Gotta Hold On
6. Am I Digital? (Intro)
7. Coast Of Tears
8. Black Ash
9. Like A Shadow
10. Cybersteria
11. You Will Find A Way
12. Not Bound To The Evil

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "PowerWorld Announces New LP 'Cybersteria'"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.