"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Woe Reveals Details On New Album "Withdrawal"

Candlelight Records today confirms April 23rd as the North American release date for "Withdrawal," the third album from black metallers Woe.

Produced by vocalist/guitarist Chris Grigg and mastered by Colin Marston, the album features seven new songs with a running time of 43 minutes. It is the first new material by the band since 2010’s "Quietly, Undramatically" (reviewed here). "Withdrawal" reunites the band with artist and long-time friend Justin Miller.

“I spent a ton of time focusing on the production,” says Grigg in discussing the album’s creation. “We examined what Woe created since its inception in 2007 and broke it down to its core elements. The result is something that is a synthesis of the strongest elements: the unstoppable black metal ferocity of A Spell For The Death of Man mixed with the bold dynamics and smarter, more direct and personal songwriting of Quietly, Undramatically. It is our most intense, our most cohesive, our most personal.”

Recorded at studios in New York and New Jersey during the latter months of 2012, "Withdrawal" is a robust and penetrating album. It benefits from 18-months of live performances; something unavailable to Woe in the early years. “This is music that was made to be performed live,” Grigg notes. “Working with other people keeps Woe fresh. They bring new ideas and perspectives, fill in the gaps of my own abilities, and keep things moving when I slow down. This is the first Woe album to include not just riffs written by others but entire songs. Ruston (Grosse, drums) wrote 'Ceaseless Jaws.' Ben (Brand, guitar) wrote the initial draft of 'Exhausted' and then we reworked it. It's also the first album to include vocals other than mine: Grzesiek (Czapla, bass/vocals) doesn't just do backups; he has entire verses in a number of songs and is more 'second vocalist' than anything else.”

The track listing is as follows:

1. This is the End of the Story
2. Carried by Waves to Remorseless Shores of the Truth
3. All Bridges Burned
4. Ceaseless Jaws
5. Song of My Undoing
6. Exhausted
7. Withdrawal

Upcoming live dates for Woe are:

01/31/2013 St. Vitus – Brooklyn, NY
02/01/2013 Golden Tea House – Philadelphia, PA
02/02/2013 Strange Matter - Richmond, VA
03/08/2013 Gorham Brothers Music - Syracuse, NY
03/09/2013 Theatre Plaza - Montreal, QC

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Woe Reveals New Album Details"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.