"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Sepultura To Release "SepulQuarta" Live Album In August

Photo of Sepultura

Band Photo: Sepultura (?)

While the pandemic paralyzed the entire world and prevented bands from touring, Latin America's biggest metal export Sepultura refused to sit back and act like an animal trapped in a cage. Like the flowers growing out of the deceased bird’s body depicted on the stunning colourful cover artwork by Eduardo Recife, the thrash metal pioneers from Belo Horizonte made good use of their unexpected free time to start a project that kept them busy throughout the entirety of 2020 - their new live album SepulQuarta will see the light of day on August 13th. The pre-order for this one-of-a-kind release featuring renowned guest musicians from all over the world is now live.

Get your copy of the CD or an eco-friendly recycled vinyl (available in black or individually marbled) here.

"'SepulQuarta' was born at the very beginning of the pandemic when everything was halted," guitarist Andreas Kisser remembers. "We had a new album out, but we couldn’t tour for it. Therefore, we created this recurring event where we could talk with our fans around the world, play our music and exchange ideas, it was a blast! 'SepulQuarta' kept us alive and strong throughout one of the most difficult times in human history."

Obviously, the Brazilian pioneers were not the only musicians feeling this way, so they started to connect with friends and colleagues worldwide and asked them to not only be part of their weekly podcast, but also join them in playing one of Sepultura’s classic tracks. From the safety of their homes, international stars like Devin Townsend, Scott Ian (Anthrax), Danko Jones, Matt Heafy (Trivium), and many more recorded a Sepultura track together with the band, which have now been mixed and mastered by Conrado Ruther for release via jewelcase CD, recycled 2LP vinyl in black and marbled (Nuclear Blast + band shop exclusive) and via all streaming platforms.

Today, the band also unveils a spectacular performance of "Mask" that they recorded together with prog master Devin Townsend. Watch the video below.


1. Territory (feat. David Ellefson)
2. Cut-Throat (feat. Scott Ian)
3. Sepulnation (feat. Danko Jones)
4. Inner Self (feat. Phil Rind)
5. Hatred Aside (feat. Angélica Burns, Mayara Puertas & Fernanda Lira)
6. Mask (feat. Devin Townsend)
7. Fear, Pain, Chaos, Suffering (feat. Emmily Barreto)
8. Vandals Nest (feat. Alex Skolnick)
9. Slave New World (feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
10. Ratamahatta (feat. Joao Barone & Charles Gavin)
11. Apes Of God (feat. Rob Cavestany)
12. Phantom Self (feat. Mark Holcomb)
13. Slaves Of Pain (feat. Fred Leclercq & Marcello Pompeu)
14. Kaiowas (feat. Rafael Bittencourt)
15. Orgasmatron (feat. Phil Campbell)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Sepultura Announces 'SepulQuarta' Live Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

BrianMN's avatar


1. BrianMN writes:

I hate to hijack another article but Pestilence released another song a few days ago called Deificvs.
The only reason I'm bothering to mention this is that this song is the perfect blend, the most incredible modern bridge between Consuming Impulse and Testimony. I didn't think Patrick had it in him to do songs like this anymore.
Just savage, haunting etc....

# Jun 6, 2021 @ 8:45 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.