"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Schammasch Announces New Release "The Maldoror Chants: Hermaphrodite"

With last year's triple album opus, "Triangle," Swiss avant-garde metal outfit Schammasch gained wide international acclaim and defiantly raised the bar within the extreme metal scene.

This summer, Schammasch will extend uts body of work by adding a new branch - the first in a line of shorter releases entitled "The Maldoror Chants," entirely based on "Les Chants de Maldoror" - one of the 19th century's darkest and most fascinating literary works which would later become part of the foundation of the surrealist movement.

"Hermaphrodite," as the first of these releases will be called, shows a different side of the band's artistic repertoire with focus upon spoken word and atmospheric soundscapes rather than the song by song formula. A new approach to visual aesthetics can be found in the artwork design as well, which presents a hand drawn illustration by Mexican artist / surrealist H├ęctor Pineda, whilst the layout was completely handled by vocalist/guitarist C.S.R's art project SAROS Collective (also responsible for the audio production).

"The Maldoror Chants: Hermaphrodite" will hit digital and physical retailers on June 9th, 2017 via Prosthetic Records. Pre-orders are online here and the track listing is as follows:

1. Prologue
2. The Weighty Burden Of An Eternal Secret
3. Along The Road That Leads To Bedlam
4. These Tresses Are Sacred
5. May His Illusion Last Until Dawn's Awakening
6. Chimerical Hope
7. Do Not Open Your Eyes

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Schammasch Announces New Release"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.