"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Volker Announces "Dead Doll" Album Release

Volker is new to the North American heavy metal scene, but is destined to break out in a big way with the release of upcoming melodic assault, "Dead Doll," hitting North American retailers on May 26th, 2017 via Overpowered Records / AISA/RED distribution.

Building upon the diverse musical background of the French four-piece, "Dead Doll" blends assorted heavy music influences such as 90's grunge rock, retro power metal, classic rock, and even horror punk to create an accessible, engaging sound that has yet to be matched by any current artist of late.

Check out a teaser for Volker's upcoming music video for the single "Obey!" below. The North American version of Dead Doll also features a bonus remix of the track, remixed by Strugg. Composer/guitarist Ulrich Wegrich states:

"Conceptually, 'Dead Doll' is inspired by old horror movies and gothic themes such as ghosts, death, sorcery, etc. All of the lyrics were written by Jen and are inspired by the darkness in our world, and some - mainly 'Obey!' and 'Suicide Love Addict' - discuss human nature and primal instinct.

"I've been performing and composing death and black metal since 1997, so Volker allows me to explore new horizons. I wanted to play something different and a bit more similar to my first loves, Guns N' Roses and Nirvana. I'm very excited to get this project out there. I feel more like myself - more like a rocker than a metal guy. Emmanuel, our bassist, always felt the same way, so it was a no-brainer to make this project a reality."

Overpowered Records label representative Arnaud Bondelu says: "The origins of our partnership with Volker were a little bit unexpected, but welcome. Nicolas, the director of a truly great label based in the same town as us (Lille, France) called Kaotoxin Records, introduced us to a black metal band called Otargos. We later found that the members of that band founded another group, Volker, and performed in a totally different style.

"The music was just as amazing, but in a completely different way. Kaotoxin had already signed Volker and we thought our chance at working with them had passed, but when the label suddenly had to cease operations, the partnership between Volker and Overpowered Records picked right up where they left off. We're really proud to work with Volker because we believe they are truly one of the greatest rising bands to come out right now, and will make an impact in the coming years. We're very motivated to push them out there internationally."

1. Freaky Bride
2. Obey!
3. Negative Waves
4. Suicide Love Addict
5. Black Sunday
6. Yell
7. Voodoo Baby
8. In Black And White
9. Would You Play With Me
10. It Summons Me To Follow
11. Raven
12. Yell (CNX Remix)
13. Obey! (Strugg Remix - North American exclusive bonus track)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Volker Announces 'Dead Doll' Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.