"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

New Album "I Am Providence" Released By Arkham Witch

U.K. traditional/doom metal act Arkham Witch issued the third full-length studio album "I Am Providence" today via Metal on Metal Records.

Vocalist Simon Iff commented: "It's definitely a continuation in the style of 'The Lord of R'lyeh' and 'Kult of Kutulu' - that kind of fun take on the pulpy side of Lovecraft and a sheer musical celebration of the man and his imagination and legacy in popular culture rather than an attempt to imitate in music his cosmic viewpoints and eldritch atmospheres."

Guitarist Aldo Doom added: "I just want to add on behalf of myself and the rest of the gang that this has been one fun album to do. I don't want to scare all our fans and give too much away, but it's going to sound a lot different to our previous releases. We are NOT changing our style or wanting to progress into something different. Simon just simply started writing the songs for the album in a very cool different approach and the rest of us went with the flow! The result... well, if Lovecraft was around today, he'd be cruising around in his car, blasting out this album full volume and banging his head!"

Metal On Metal Records commented: "If one thing can be said about this album, it's that the shift in style is quite noticeable. While it pretty much still sounds like Arkham Witch, that is: it's predominantly old school British Heavy Metal rooted in the '70s and '80s tradition, most of the doom elements present on their previous releases are subdued here and replaced with some punk (Misfits style) and thrash/crossover (M.O.D. style) leanings, showing through in the melodic choruses with backing vocals and an overall lighter feel, but also in some thrashy chunky riffs delivering the punches. When you first hear these songs they may leave you confused or even flabbergasted, but give this album more than one full spin and you may be rocking out to it very soon! This album is definitely a grower.

Honestly, when we first heard 'I Am Providence' (at that time it was 70 minutes long!) we had rather mixed feelings, but now we're enjoying the heck out of most of these songs, singing along and just having fun... Well, meanwhile we had suggested to the band that they take some of those 31 songs and release them as an EP, which they agreed to ('Weird Tales' EP is out on the same day!), so now the album is just 48 minutes long and has 20 tracks (yes, they are pretty short, often around 2 minutes). And the lyrics (all songs are based on Lovecraft stories) are a big added value! Musically, it bears some similarities to bands like THE LAMP OF THOTH, DEEP SWITCH, HELL, TANK, MISFITS, THE BLOOD, BLUE ÖYSTER CULT, MANILLA ROAD, CIRITH UNGOL and M.O.D., but it is a very peculiar album, and one that is best consumed together with your favourite booze!"

A short promo clip for "I Am Providence" album, featuring a fragment of "Cthulhu Arise!" song, can be watched below.

The complete CD track listing is:

1. A New English Gentleman [instrumental]
2. I Am Providence (1890 – 1937)
3. The Haunted Tomb (1917)
4. From Beyond (1920)
5. The Catacombs of Nephren-Ka (1921)
6. Re-Animator (1922)
7. The Rats in the Walls (1923)
8. Bring the Old Ones Down (1927)
9. Cthulhu Arise! (1926)
10. Yuggothian Sunrise [instrumental]
11. Dead but Dreaming (1926)
12. And What Man Knows Kadath? (1927)
13. The Colour out of Space (1927)
14. Necronomicon (1927)
15. Hastur the Unspeakable (1930)
16. Tsathoggua (1931)
17. Rebellion of the Shoggoths (1931)
18. The Esoteric Order of Dagon (1931)
19. Witch House (1932)
20. The Haunter of the Dark (1935)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Arkham Witch Releases 'I Am Providence'"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.