"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise


Formed: 2003
From: United Kingdom
Last Known Status: Active


Touchstone is a rock band from the UK. The original band was formed by Rob Cottingham in 2001, after the release of his solo album 'Behind the Orchard Tree' - recorded at Linford Manor Studios in Milton Keynes (Jamiroqaui, Feeder, Skunk Ananse). Adam Hodgson joined in 2003. Other more recent band members include bassist Paul Moorghen, singer Kim Seviour and drummer Henry Rogers.


Latest Touchstone News

Below is our complete Touchstone news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Touchstone Parts With Keyboardist And Vocalist

Touchstone just parted ways with both Rob Cottingham and Kim Seviour, with the band now commenting:

"Cannot believe it's been a week since our last gigs with Elkie & Lord Cotters! We would like to say a massive thank you to everyone involved in making the weekend the success it was, both behind the scenes, on the stage, and of course, front of house and our audiences - an absolutely wonderful send off for Elkie & Cotters.

"We now have the unenviable task of trying to find a new keyboard player and a new singer...it's not going to be easy, but rest assured, we will be back soon!

"So THANK YOU everyone who has supported us so far, and we look forward to a lot more party nights in the future! The future is bright...the future is REDHEAD! Thanks to Chris Jones for the wonderful photo." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Touchstone Detail Fourth Album

Progressive rock/metal act Touchstone have signed a record deal with Hear No Evil Recordings/Cherry Red for the release of the band's upcoming fourth LP "Oceans Of Time," which drops on October 7th. The album is the follow up to "The City Sleeps" (reviewed here). Pre-orders can be made over here.

"Oceans Of Time" was produced by John Mitchell (It Bites), and it carries forth the conceptual "Wintercoast" storyline in the title track as well as completes the "Shadow trilogy" with the track "Shadow’s End." The band describes the sound as “a more guitar-orientated sound than previous albums, due to the nature of the writing process.”

Label Hear No Evil commented: “Touchstone are a fresh and exciting addition to the Hear No Evil roster, with a modern album that strikes a perfect balance between classic, melodic prog and more streamlined, contemporary hard rock.”

The track listing for "Oceans Of Time" is:

1. Flux
2. Contact
3. Tabula Rasa
4. Fragments
5. Spirit Of The Age
6. Suffer The Little Children
7. Shadow’s End
8. Solace 2013
9. Through The Night
10. Thunder & Crickets
11. Oceans Of Time More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

SPV Artists Nominated for ProgAwards

Steamhammer/SPV Records has issued the following press release about bands on the label's roster being nominated for ProgAwards:

"We're proud to announce that two of our Steamhammer/SPV bands Touchstone (UK) and Frames (GER) have been nominated for several ProgAwards!

"Touchstone: Rapidly rising effervescent British progressive / modern melodic metal rock five-piece Touchstone have been nominated in the 'New Blood' category in the inaugural British Progressive Music Awards. You can vote for them here. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Touchstone Offering Live Song As Free Download

U.K. modern progressive rockers Touchstone have announced an exclusive promotion on their Facebook page where they are currently giving away a special live version of "Joker In The Pack," recorded at the inaugural High Voltage Festival in 2010.

The track, which has always been crowd favorite in the band's live set, is now available to download for free for a limited time only in celebration of the worldwide re-release of their entire back catalogue by SPV/Steamhammer this Spring.

"Joker In The Pack - Live at High Voltage" is just one of the bonus live tracks recorded at the festival which feature on the digi-pack re-issues of "Wintercoast" and the band's debut album "Discordant Dreams," along with exclusive new artwork by guitarist Adam Hodgson.

Head to the Touchstone free download app at Facebook here to download your copy. You can also check out our review of Touchstone's "The City Sleeps" at this location.

0 Comments - Discuss