"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Chuck Mosley and VUA - "Will Rap Over Hard Rock For Food" (CD)

Chuck Mosley and VUA - "Will Rap Over Hard Rock For Food" CD cover image

"Will Rap Over Hard Rock For Food" track listing:

1. Intro
2. The Enabler
3. Tractor
4. Punk Rock Movie
5. Nameless
6. Pile Driver
7. Come Around
8. King Arthur's Cousin Ted
9. Sophie
10. We Care A Lot
11. Bob Forest

Reviewed by on November 30, 2011

"If ever there was an album that was released two decades too late, it's this one."

Two decades after being sacked from Faith No More right as that band was about to explode in popularity, ex-frontman Chuck Mosley released his solo debut, the winkingly titled "Will Rap Over Hard Rock For Food." If ever there was an album that was released two decades too late, it's this one.

Sure, Mosley really only raps over a handful of tracks on the album — the single "The Enabler," featuring guest performances by Korn singer Jonathan Davis and guitarist extraordinaire John 5, the remake of Faith No More's "We Care A Lot" and parts of "Pile Driver" — but the disc still feels like 20-year-old alt-metal, very much akin to Faith No More. Also, quite frankly, Mosley's not anywhere near the vocalist his replacement, Mike Patton was. That fact is made abundantly clear when Mosley tries to get more melodic on tracks like "Nameless," featuring fellow Reversed Image Unlimited recording artist Leah Lou.

That said, you've got to give Mosley and his band, VUA (Vanduls Ugainst Alitteracy) credit for coming up with an eclectic mix of songs. Besides the rap-rock crunch of "The Enabler," you've got the vaguely Green Day sounds of "Punk Rock Movie" and quite a bit of quiet and acoustic material, including the very pretty "Sophie," with its surprisingly bitter lyrics.

Unfortunately, the album also has more than its share of filler tracks, including "Bob Forest," the partly acoustic, partly electric shriek track that closes the album, and the joking remake of "We Care A Lot," featuring his former Faith No More bandmate Roddy Bottum, in which Mosley says that one of the things he cares a lot about is "the fact that I can still get paid for doin' this song."

Fans of Faith No More (and Mosley's work in little-known bands like Cement, as well as his stint with Bad Brains) will no doubt find something to love here. Others may find his particular brand of alt-metal competently performed, but outdated, nonetheless.

Highs: "The Enabler," "Sophie" and "Punk Rock Movie"

Lows: Filler tracks like "Bob Forest" and the lame remake of "We Care A Lot."

Bottom line: Competently performed, but outdated alt-metal in the Faith No More mold.

Rated 3 out of 5 skulls
3 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)