"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Motorhead - "Stage Fright" (DVD)

Motorhead - "Stage Fright" DVD cover image

"Stage Fright" track listing:

1. Dr. Rock
2. Stay Clean
3. Shoot You In The Back
4. Love Me Like A Reptile
5. Killers
6. Metropolis
7. Over The Top
8. No Class
9. I Got Mine
10. In The Name Of Tragedy
11. Dancing On Your Grave
12. R.A.M.O.N.E.S.
13. Sacrifice
14. Just ’Cos You Got The Power
15. Going To Brazil
16. Killed By Death
17. Iron Fist
18. Whorehouse Blues
19. Ace Of Spades
20. Overkill

Reviewed by on October 23, 2006

"Lemmy himself after thirty odd years of a steady alcohol and meth amphetamine diet, looks like he hasn't aged a damn year since Motorhead's early breakout days."

There are few rock and roll legends who can claim such a party fueled and chaotic at every turn history as MOTORHEAD's Lemmy Kilmister. The great one on his signature Rickenbacker bass sums it all up for everyone perfectly when he kickstarts the show by saying "We are Motorhead and we play Rock and Roll." Despite the fact that the album for this tour was released on Sanctuary Records, it's the top notch SPV Records who are involved with this DVD and this company is easily the leader by far at putting out perfectly shot concert products and simply delivering more value for your money than any other name on the market.

This double DVD includes the full 90 minute concert from a show to an obviously sold-out house filmed at the Philipshalle in Dusseldorf Germany, along with a second DVD loaded with many extra features. The concert examined alone is served up with a load of barnstorming classic Motorhead tunes and several rarities like "I Got Mine" (off "Another Perfect Day" album) or the in your face "Just 'Cos You Got The Power". Of course, the set wouldn't be complete without the definitive monster hits from the band such as the gritty "Ace Of Spades" and my all-time favorite "Iron Fist."

The lineup behind Lemmy is comprised of not the original proprietors of mayhem, Phil 'Philthy Animal' Taylor or Fast Eddie Clarke. Instead we are knocked back in our seat with the highly engaging Phil Campbell on guitar and Mikkey Dee on drums. And though I personally think that there is no contest versus the first and more widely recognized trio that were responsible for initially launching the band into stardom as the first punk/metal crossover act in the 80's, it must be noted that Campbell and Dee are clearly having more fun than anyone in the arena here and are certainly no slouches at their jobs. I must admit that the band does sound more technically achieved at this point too, without seeming to lose the raw street edge they have become so well known for over the years. What is most amazing is how Lemmy himself, after thirty odd years of a steady alcohol and meth amphetamine diet, looks like he hasn't aged a damn year since Motorhead's early breakout days.

As an extra bonus there's a "DVD-check" incorporated that serves as band commentary during the gig. On DVD 2 are a series of documentaries on the band, highlighted by informative backstage interviews and the such, including a portion entitled "We Are The Road Crew," which is particularly fun to watch because it provides a unique insight into how the people behind Motorhead's epic stage performance keep them firing on all cylinders from one show to the next. This second disc is 120 minutes in length. The packaging for the DVD set is a thin case that also houses a perfectly designed 16 page color booklet filled with cool photos.

Any fan of Motorhead should not hesitate to add this gem to their collection.

Highs: A near perfect concert captured with flawless, stylized camera work and editing.

Lows: The concert itself could have easily added a few more classic Motorhead songs..

Bottom line: This is heavy metal at its finest hour.

Rated 5 out of 5 skulls
5 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)